CHARLES HENRY BACON. An old and honorable family name of Springfield, Ohio, is that of Bacon, where business enterprise, good citizenship and sterling personal character have always been associated with it. For many years its leading representative was the late Charles Henry Bacon, merchant, banker and prominent citizen, whose long and useful life was spent in this city.
Mr. Bacon was born at Springfield, Ohio, September 1, 1833, and died here December 19, 1902. He was of New England ancestry and Revolutionary stock. His parents were John and Mary (Cavileer) Bacon, the former of whom was born at Weathersfield, Connecticut, a son of Captain Richard and Anner (Fosdick) Bacon. Captain Richard Bacon served as an officer in a Connecticut Line regiment in the Revolutionary war. John Bacon came to Ohio in 1812 and located at first at Urbana, in Champaign County, but came to Springfield in 1818. He was a saddler by trade and for many years had his harness and saddle shop on the present site of the Mad River National Bank. He was one of the organizers of the old Mad River Bank, which was familiarly known as “Bacon’s Bank” and which was the pioneer banking institution of Springfield. This bank was incorporated in 1847, under the name of the Mad River Bank of the State of Ohio. In 1865 it was reorganized and chartered as the Mad River National Bank, being one of the first national banks organized under the National Bank Act. Mr. Bacon became president, and continued to be identified with this bank until his death which occurred March 5, 1868. He married Mary Cavileer, who was born at Chestertown, Maryland, and died at Springfield, December 22, 1878. Of their family of children Charles Henry was the youngest son.
Charles Henry Bacon attended school at Springfield in boyhood and grew to manhood with practical business ideas, evolved while receiving early commercial training. For many years he was engaged here in the wholesale grocery business, first as a member of the firm of Wright, Horr & Bacon, and later of the Horr & Bacon Company. For an extended period he was a director in the Mad River National Bank, and at the time of his death was vice president. His business sagacity was marked, and his judgment was frequently consulted on important matters of business policy by others who were less well informed or did not possess his keen foresight.
Mr. Bacon married on September 22, 1858, Miss Jane D. Horr, a daughter of Dr. Obed and Catherine (Foley) Horr. Dr. Horr was born in Massachusetts, came very early to Ohio and for many years was a practicing physician at Mechanicsburg in Champaign County. He married Catherine Foley, who was born in Clark County, Ohio, and was a daughter of John Foley, a pioneer in Clark County from Virginia. These names are all familiar ones in Ohio, long having represented some of the best citizenship in the state. Two daughters were born to Mr. and Mrs. Bacon: Fannie, who became the wife of Charles Rowley, of Springfield, and now resides in Michigan; and Catherine, whose death occurred shortly after her marriage to E. O. Bowman, a well known journalist of Columbus, Ohio.
Mr. Bacon was primarily a business man and political leadership never appealed to him. He was, however, a careful and observant citizen and deeply interested in all that related to the substantial well-being of Springfield, wielding a marked influence in the direction of education and morality, and was a generous but unostentatious contributor to local charities. Mrs. Bacon still occupies the spacious family residence on East High Street, which for many years has been one of the hospitable homes of the city. She has a wide circle of personal friends here, who admire and esteem her for her beautiful traits of character, and additionally has another circle of friends, the most of them personally unknown to her, who are continually enjoying the fruits of her benevolence. She is a member of the Episcopal Church.
Source: A Standard History of Springfield and Clark County, Ohio by Benjamin F. Prince, 1922, page 35
JAMES BACON, farmer and stock-breeder; P. O. Springfield. He lives in a beautiful brick house near Taylor’s mill, about three miles east of Springfield; he takes great pleasure in raising fine horses and cattle, and has at present some very fine ones; he is a son of John and Mary (Cavileer) Bacon, and was born in Springfield Feb. 1, 1823; his father came to Ohio in 1812, locating in Urbana, Champaign Co., where he lived six years; thence to Springfield, living there until his death, which occurred March 5, 1878. His mother was born in Chestertown, Md.; her parents were among the earliest settlers of this county; she departed this life Dec. 22, 1868. James attended school until 15, when he entered his father’s shop—he being a saddler—as an apprentice, and, at the end of six years, entered into partnership with his father, continuing the same some five years; he then went to New York City, clerking some five years in a wholesale hardware store; then, returning to Springfield, engaged in the dry goods business, under the firm name of Baldwin & Bacon, for ten years, when they sold out; he was then appointed, in 1861, Revenue Collector for this district, conducting the same satisfactorily two years, when he resigned, not engaging in any particular business until 1869, when he moved to where he now lives, and engaged in milling for a short time; since leaving the mill, he has devoted his time to his present occupation. He was united in marriage, Oct. 12, 1854, to Mary L. Topping, daughter of William and Mary Topping; four children—two boys and two girls—have gladdened their hearts. Mr. and Mrs. Bacon have enjoyed their married life very much, and would be willing to live it over again. An incident in his father’s life is worthy of note. The family, which consisted of father, mother and two children, moved from Connecticut to Ohio in a wagon drawn by two oxen; John, then 12 years old, drove the team the entire distance.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 781
TEMPLETON W. BAILEY, farmer; P. O. Enon. Mr. Bailey was born in Augusta Co., Va., Dec. 14, 1819, and removed with his parents to Ohio in 1829, locating in Pike Township, Clark County. He received his education in the common schools of Virginia and Ohio. He married, Dec. 6, 1846, in Greene Co., Ohio, Miss Nancy Cox, who was born in Warren Co., Ohio, Nov. 1, 1822. They are the parents of eight children, viz.: David, born March 14, 1848; Elizabeth, born Jan. 30, 1850; Martha Jane, born Oct. 25, 1851, died March 6, 1855; Susan, born Nov. 13, 1853; infant son, born Aug. 28, 1855, and died on the following day; Mary Ellen, born April 25, 1860; Rozety, born July 14, 1864; and William Charles, born April 6, 1868.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 1039
WILLIAM D. BAIRD, retired farmer; P. O. Springfield. Few men have had the good fortune to win the affectionate regard and kindly sympathy of the community in which they live that William D. Baird has gained among the people of Clark Co. His supple frame bending under the weight of years, his frank, open, generous face, his courteous bearing, his kindly and even-tempered disposition, unruffled by the cares and anxieties of a lifetime of business activity, and all conspire to excite respect. Nearly fourscore years have left him a hale, hearty and well-preserved old man; a quick, elastic step; busy, active and energetic in business; still in possession of his old-time habit of industry, which have been his stepping-stone to prosperity. His grandfather, William Baird, a native of Maryland, of English origin—the family having come to the American Colonies before the Revolutionary war—was a man of prominence in his county; was Justice of the Peace, and afterward represented his county in the State Legislature for three terms. He had a family of three children, one son and two daughters, and died at Hagerstown, in his native State. His son William, the youngest of his children, was born in Hagerstown, Md., March 16, 1762, and when 18 years of age, went into the patriot army to help free his native land from English tyranny. Some time after the close of that struggle for liberty, William was married to Dorothy Camerer, who was born in his native town in March, 1760. The Camerers were from Holland, and settled in Maryland at an early day, five of her brothers having been soldiers in the Revolution, fighting the battles for freedom under Washington. William Baird and wife remained in Maryland until 1790, then removed to Westmoreland Co., Penn., where they resided about four years; thence came down the Ohio on a flat-boat, to Maysville, Ky., and from there to Fleming Co., of the same State, where he intended settling on 500 acres of land previously entered by his father, and given to him on condition that he would settle upon it. He remained in Fleming Co. about fourteen years, but never settled on the land, for the reason that others claimed it, and he, putting his case in the hands of a lawyer, finally lost it all. In 1808, he and family came to Clark Co., Ohio, and he entered 160 acres of land in Sec. 30, Township 6, Range 9, Harmony Township, paying one-half entrance money down, and the balance in the next four years, receiving his patent in 1812. To William and Dorothy Baird were born the following children: Esther, Susannah, Sarah, Peter C., John, Elizabeth, Mary Ann and William D., only two of whom are living—Susannah, the widow of Joshua Tatman, and the subject of this sketch. William D. was born in Fleming Co., Ky., Feb. 4, 1803, and was in his 5th year when the family moved to this county. He grew to maturity on his father’s farm, attending school about two years at the primitive log schoolhouse of his neighborhood, most of the time having to walk three miles to get there. His mother died Sept. 4, 1824, a sincere member of the Methodist Church, and March 9, 1836, his father died, leaving to his family a farm of 394 acres of land, William D. receiving the old homestead of 160, on which were such improvements as were common fifty years ago. Two of the sons, Peter C. and John, were soldiers in the war of 1812. William D. Baird was married in Pleasant Township, Dec. 1, 1826, to Sarah M. C. Hodge, daughter of Andrew and Isabel (McTire) Hodge, natives of Virginia, who first settled in Kentucky, coming to Clark Co. in the fall of 1808, and settling in Pleasant Township. Mrs. Baird was born in Bourbon Co., Ky., April 12, 1804, and had born to her the following children: Isabel (wife of Henry Stickney), Andrew (deceased), Samuel E. (deceased), William W. (deceased), Mary Ann (deceased wife of John A. Yeazell) and James (deceased). Mrs. Baird died Feb. 19, 1876, after a wedded life of over half a century, leaving behind her partner in life’s battles to mourn the loss of his faithful helpmate. Politically, he is a Republican, and, although connected with no religious denomination, he believes firmly in the fundamental principles of Christianity. Beginning in life at “the foot of the ladder,” he has, by hard, determined work and constant attention to his business affairs, made a wonderful success. He is now the owner of about 1,000 acres of land surrounding the old homestead, and about 300 in other parts of the county, and his wealth is to-day estimated at from $75,000 to $100,000. In his younger days he was an active stock-raiser, and in this manner, by untiring energy, has made a success. Seldom equaled in farm life, Mr. Baird is a living example of what pluck and perseverance can accomplish when backed by industry and true economy. He is now in his 79th year, and as hale and hearty as are most men at half his age; and although his life has been one of constant toil and business cares, his character stands unblemished, and his reputation for honesty and integrity is above reproach. His troubles have been many, having lost every member of his family, with the exception of one; but, with patient resignation, he bows to the will of the Great Creator, and awaits the day when he shall again meet those gone on before.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 954
A. A. BAKER, physician and surgeon, Springfield. Dr. Baker is a life-time resident of Clark County, and for many years has been a noted physician and surgeon in the locality in which he has done business. As one of our prominent men, then, he is deserving of a place in the history of the county. He was born in 1831, near Enon, and, during his boyhood, received an excellent education; his parents, Ezra D. and Anne (Morgan) Baker, reared four children—Cassandra, Leander, Gustavius and our subject. In 1845, Dr. Baker commenced the study of medicine under Dr. J. J. McElhinney, of Dayton; in 1846 and 1847, he attended medical lectures at Starling College, Ohio, since which time he has practiced his profession in this and Champaign Counties. His marriage to Miss Maggie Miller was celebrated in 1845; she is of the old Shellabarger stock that have ever been noted in the history of this and Champaign Counties; their children are four in number—Annetta M., Elizabeth A., Scipio E. and Nellie B.; the eldest daughter, Annetta, is the wife of Dr. E. Myers, who is now a partner of his father-in-law. In 1870, Dr. Baker graduated at the Ohio Medical College of Cincinnati, although a highly reputable and educated physician, but wishing a diploma from one of the oldest schools in the West, and that the efficient instruction imparted at that institution would be of benefit to him, besides the release from business cares, determined him in this matter. Wishing to engage in a city practice, he came to Springfield in 1880 and associated in business with Dr. Myers, still being near enough his old patrons, who are loath to give him up. During the war, he was appointed Surgeon of the 53d O. N. G., but was forced to resign on account of disability. The Doctor is one of those genial men who will surely merit the confidence of the citizens of Springfield, and he already possesses this of numerous patrons in his former place of residence. His father is now the oldest living settler of Madison Township, and was County Commissioner four terms, besides being actively engaged in the county’s business enterprises for many years. His mother died in 1867 at the age of 63 years.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 785
ADAM BAKER, farmer; P. O. Eagle City; born on his present farm April 26, 1841; is a son of Adam and Susannah (Klinefelter) Baker, natives of York Co., Penn.; Adam and family became residents of Clark Co., Ohio, in 1836, remaining in Springfield about one year; then bought and located on the farm where our subject now lives; here he resided until his death. He died in April, 1863, aged 67 years. In 1869, his wife moved to Springfield, where she resided until her death; she died Aug. 7, 1879, aged 77 years. They were parents of twelve children, seven now survive—Elizabeth, Cornelius, William B., Elnora, Joanna, John W. and Adam. Mr. Baker was an active, prominent man in this community; in connection with farming, he was quite an extensive dealer in stock, and became owner of about 800 acres of land along the Mad River bottoms; also bought the flouring-mills and distillery then located here, which he ran very successfully for about twenty years. He also held various offices of the township and county; was County Commissioner several years. Our subject remained with his father until his death. Was married, Oct. 10, 1869, to Amanda, daughter of John and Sarah Ann Wilson, he a native of Champaign Co., Ohio, and she of Virginia, Amanda being the third of nine children; five now survive—Malissa E., William M., Amanda E., Mary Susanna and Sarah Caroline. Mr. Baker has always resided upon the old home place, with the exception of fifteen months’ residence with his father on the Hetzler property, below Springfield, when they returned to the old home farm. Mr. Baker now owns 323 acres of fine land, constituting three farms. The home place has now been in possession of the Baker family forty-four years. He has never sought or held office; he is, like his father was before him, a stanch Republican. Mr. Baker has been an active business man; a good financier; has a pleasant home, and is well situated to enjoy the comforts of life.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 997
BENSON A. BAKER is one of the representative agriculturists and stock growers of the younger generation in Moorefield Township, where he stages his productive activities on the old homestead farm which was the place of his birth and which is situated six and onehalf miles north of Springfield. Here he was born March 27, 1895, a son of Charles O. and Irby E. (Rawlings) Baker. The father was born in German Township, this county, October 30, 1858, a son of Alexander and Johanna (Baker) Baker, the former of whom likewise was born in Clark County and the latter of whom was born in Maryland, she having been young when she came with her parents to Clark County. Alexander Baker became a prosperous farmer in German Township, near Eagle City, where he remained until 1865. He then removed with his family to the farm which he purchased in Moorefield Township, where he passed the remainder of his life, he having been one of the honored pioneer citizens of the county at the time of his death. Of his two children Charles O. was the elder, and Susanna became the wife of Dr. J. M. Kilgore, they having established their home in the City of Chicago, Illinois.
Charles O. Baker was reared on the home farm and received his early education in the local schools. December 13, 1888, recorded his marriage with Miss Irby E. Rawlings, who was born in Champaign County, this state, August 5, 1867, a daughter of James and Laura (Townley) Rawlings. After his marriage Charles O. Baker settled on a farm in Moorefield Township, and he later purchased and removed to the adjoining farm, which constitutes the home place of his son Benson A., immediate subject of this sketch. Here he remained until his death, November 30, 1916, and his widow still resides there. He served as a trustee of the Moorefield Chapel Methodist Episcopal Church, of which his widow likewise is a zealous member, his political support was given to the republican party, and he was affiliated with the Knights of the Maccabees. Of the two surviving children the subject of this review is the younger, his brother, Carroll R., who was born April 2, 1892, being a resident of Springfield and the maiden name of his wife having been Effie Geron.
Benson A. Baker has wisely continued his allegiance to the great basic industries under the influences of which he was reared, and has proved himself a progressive and successful farmer in his native county. His early educational advantages were those of the public schools of Moorefield Township. He and his wife are active members of the Moorefield Chapel Methodist Church, and he is serving as a trustee of the same, being the virtual successor of his father in this office. He is a republican in political proclivities, is affiliated with Lessing Lodge No. 372, Knights of Pythias, at Springfield, and also with adjunct organization, the Dramatic Order of the Knights of Khorassan. He married, May 26, 1921, Miss Maude Anderson, and they have one child, Roger Eugene. He is associated with his widowed mother in the ownership of the well improved old homestead of ninety-four acres.
Source: A Standard History of Springfield and Clark County, Ohio by Benjamin F. Prince, 1922, page 80
CORNELIUS BAKER, ex-Sheriff, Springfield. He was born in York Co., Penn., Sept. 28, 1823; came to Clark Co., Ohio, in 1836, and settled in Springfield, where he sold goods until 1852; he then moved to the country and carried on farming for several years; during the war of the rebellion, he was appointed Enrolling Officer for German Township, and was Revenue Assessor six years. In 1872, he was elected Sheriff of Clark County, and served in said office four years, being re-elected in 1874. Mr. Baker is noted for his generosity and acts of kindness; he performed the duties of his official positions to the satisfaction of all, coming out of office without a stain upon his character.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 782
EMANUEL BAKER, farmer; P. O. Tremont City; born in Clark Co. Feb. 7, 1821; is a son of Martin and Eve (Friermood) Baker, natives of Virginia; the grandparents were also natives of Virginia, but became among the early settlers of Clark Co.; in fact, were among the real pioneers, locating here before the county was organized. Martin and Eve were in their childhood when their parents located in this county, consequently were mostly raised here; were here married, and lived and died in this county. He died July 1, 1831. They were parents of six children, five now surviving—Emanuel, Amos, Absalom, Louisa and Martin; deceased, Samuel. Our subject, the oldest child, was but 11 years of age when his father died; this left the mother with the care and responsibility of raising these young children, and that in a new country, where she had to labor under many disadvantages and deprivations; but, with a courage and fortitude which only a mother seems to possess, she, with the assistance of kind neighbors, succeeded in keeping her family together until they arrived at maturity. She died Feb. 9, 1860. Mr. Baker was married Nov. 14, 1844, to Drusilla, daughter of Solomon and Leah Foltz, natives of Virginia. By this union they have had two children, one only now surviving—Lydia; deceased, Andrew J. Mr. Baker has spent his entire life in Clark Co., and followed farming as an occupation; has been located upon the farm where he now resides since the spring of 1845, a period of thirty-five years. He has a farm of 50 acres, all in cultivation, with good improvements, constituting a pleasant home and residence. Mr. Baker has held the office of Township Trustee for two years.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 998
HARVEY A. BAKER is senior member of the firm of H. A. Baker & Brother, in which his associate is his younger brother, Harry C. Baker, and in the thriving little city of New Carlisle the firm controls a large and prosperous enterprise in the handling of heavy and shelf hardware, agricultural implements, etc., and in maintaining the local agency for the Ford automobiles. This substantial business was established in the year 1906, when Harvey A. Baker came to New Carlisle and opened a modest tin ship. The advance which has marked the history of the enterprise has been made through careful and progressive policies and effective service, and the members of the firm have achieved high reputation as business men of ability and reliability, and as liberal and public-spirited citizens. The business has been definitely expanded in scope since Harry C. Baker was admitted to partnership therein, and at the present time the general operations require the retention of a corps of about ten employees. Harry C. Baker has the general supervision of the business of the Ford agency of the firm, and a well equipped garage and service department are maintained in this connection. The hardware and implement business is established in a building of two stories and basement, and the two floors give to the firm an aggregate floor space of 8,800 square feet, the adjunct warehouse having 5,000 square feet of floor space and the garage having 3,350 square feet. The progressive firm of H. A. Baker & Brother owns all of these properties, and the splendid success that has attended the enterprise stands in evidence alike of the sterling characteristics of the two brothers and their vigorous and well ordered policies in the development of the business. Harvey A. Baker is a director of the New Carlisle Building & Loan Association, and has contributed his share to the development of the successful business of this concern. He is a director also of the New Carlisle Bank, and his civic loyalty and public spirit have been effectively brought into play in his service as a member of the Village Council and the Board of Education, and the new public school building was erected when he was a member of the board. He served one year as president of the board. He was reared on a farm in Wyandot County, and learned his trade at Osborn, Greene County, whence he came to New Carlisle and instituted his independent business career, as noted earlier in this context. He and his wife hold membership in the Brethren Church.
Mr. Baker wedded Miss Anna Wine, who was born and reared in New Carlisle and who is a daughter of Jacob Wine, now a venerable and honored citizen of New Carlisle. Mr. Wine has been a resident of Clark County fully sixty years. He came to this country from Virginia, and was long numbered among the representative farmers in the vicinity of New Carlisle. Mr. and Mrs. Baker have one son, Eugene, who is, in 1922, a student in the Junior High School of New Carlisle.
Source: A Standard History of Springfield and Clark County, Ohio by Benjamin F. Prince, 1922, page 94
JOHN R. BAKER, farmer; P. O. Springfield. John R. Baker, son of Rudolph and Eve (Kiblinger) Baker, was born Aug. 27, 1807, in Shenandoah Co., Va.; in 1818, came with his parents from Virginia to Ohio, and to Clark County, and settled in German Township, where they lived the remainder of their lives; the father died in 1825, and the mother in 1845. John R. Baker was married, Nov. 1, 1832, to Sarah Miller, daughter of William C. and Mary M. Miller; Sarah was born in Lebanon Co., Penn., March 31,1814, and came to Clark Co., Ohio, with her parents, in 1818, and settled near the Bakers, in German Township; her father departed this life in 1840, and her mother in 1860. Mr. and Mrs. John R. Baker are two worthy pioneers of this county; of their six children, but three are now living—Ezra K., James T. and Mary M. William C., in 1862 (at the end of his third year in Wittenberg College), enlisted in the 94th O. V. I., and was taken prisoner at the battle of Chickamauga; after suffering the horrors and privations of Libby, Danville and Andersonville Prisons, he died in Andersonville Prison Sept. 22, 1864, one year from the time he was taken prisoner. Ezra graduated at Wittenberg College in 1870, and is now a Lutheran minister; Mary was married, Nov. 22, 1855, to David Cutshaw; in 1866, she was left a widow by the death of her husband. Mr. and Mrs. Baker remember well when they first settled in this county; they had to “blaze” the trees when they went to a neighbor’s house, in order to find their way home again.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 782
JOSEPH BAKER, farmer; P. O. Enon. Joseph Baker is the son of Melyn and Mary Baker, both natives of New Jersey, and emigrated to Ohio about the year 1800, stopping in Cincinnati one year, then removing to Clark County, where they remained till their death. Mrs. Baker lived to an advanced age, and recounted the following incident of her early life only a short time before her death: During the war of 1812, our troops were being concentrated for the battle of the Thames; that noted Kentuckian, Col. Richard Johnson, in command of a force of United States troops, stopped at the house of her father, and requested her to furnish himself and staff with supper, lodging and breakfast. Her parents being absent from home, she, a girl of 16, provided for their wants so acceptably that on his return, wounded, from the battle where history gives him the credit of killing that noted Indian chief, Tecumseh, they again stopped at her father’s house for entertainment. Joseph Baker was born in Clark Co., Ohio, Sept. 12, 1830, and was educated in the common schools of his native place. At the age of 14, he started for himself farming, in which pursuit he has continued to the present time. He married, Nov. 1, 1855, Miss Elizabeth King, of Clark County. They are the parents of four children, viz.: Mary, Tillie, Joetta and Maud. Joetta died Oct. 9, 1872. He purchased a portion of the old homestead, containing 98 2/3 acres, which is in a high state of cultivation, and he is in every way prepared to enjoy the comforts of life.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 1039
MOSES BAKER, farmer; P. O. Enon. Mr. Baker is the son of Jonathan and Sarah Baker, who were natives of New Jersey, and emigrated to Ohio in 1802, locating in Butler County, where they remained three years, when they removed to Clark County, residing there until their death. Our subject was born in Clark County Aug. 8, 1809, just twenty-nine years after Clarke’s battle with the Indians. The country at that time was still a wilderness, abounding with wild animals, and Indians roamed the forests of the frontier county as it was called. Great labor was required to clear up the land in those days, and young Baker assisted his father in this work, in the meantime receiving such education as was afforded in the log schoolhouses of the day. At the age of 18, Mr. Baker started in business for himself, learning the mason trade, which business he followed until 1836. He then purchased a farm of 108 acres in Mad River Township. He married Miss Mary Davis the same year. They were the parents of six children, four of whom are now living. Mrs. Baker departed this life in the year 1865. Mr. Baker married again to Mrs. Cenith Leggett, who died in 1867. He now resides with his daughter, and is now, as he has been for many years, an earnest worker in the cause of Christ.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 1039
SAMUEL M. BAKER, farmer; P. O. Dialton; is the son of Martin and Elizabeth Baker, who were natives of Virginia and moved to Clark Co. about 1823 and purchased 53 acres of land, where he remained until his death July 20, 1854; Mrs. Baker survived him until March 6, 1870. They were both consistent members of the Reformed Church. Samuel M., the subject of this memoir, was born Dec. 10, 1830, and assisted his father until his (father’s) death, after which he managed the farm until 1869, when he purchased the farm where he now resides. Sept. 26, 1871, he celebrated his marriage to Malinda, daughter of David and Elizabeth Jenkins; this union was blessed with four children—Viola G. and Sidney G. (twins), born June 22, 1872, and Asa M.. and Charles O. (twins), born July 13, 1877. Mr. Baker has never been an aspirant for office, but has served his township in the office of Trustee with honor to himself and his constituents. On the breaking-out of the rebellion, he volunteered his services, enlisting in Co. I, 44th O. V. I., Sept. 12, 1861, serving his country until the close of the war, receiving his discharge on Aug. 9, 1865. Mr. and Mrs. Baker are members of the Reformed Church, Mr. Baker having been Sabbath-school Superintendent and teacher for over twenty years, and has been honored with the offices of Deacon and Elder in the church for a number of years. They are surrounded with all the comforts of life, earned by the incessant toil of years.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 1012
THOMAS BAKER, farmer; P. O. Eagle City; born in this county and township Aug. 4, 1820; is a son of John and Susannah (Nawman) Baker, natives of Virginia (for the Nawman family, see sketch of Samuel Nawman in this work). The grandfather, Henry Baker, was a native of Virginia, but became one of the early pioneers of Clark Co., and died here. John and Susannah were parents of eight children; five now survive—Thomas, Elizabeth, John, Cyrus and Susanna. They located about one mile north of Lawrenceville, where they lived until their death; she died some fifty years ago. He was again married, to Christiana Miller, by whom he had ten children; seven now living—Henry, Aaron, William H., George W., Catharine, Levi and Simon. He died over twenty years ago. Our subject made his home with his father until 28 years of age. Was married, in 1849, to Lydia daughter of John and Margaret Hause, natives of Pennsylvania. Issue, six children; three now survive—Harmon H., Emanuel A. and Cyrus W. Mr. Baker, after his marriage, located upon the farm where he now resides, and has made a continued residence of thirty-one years. His farm consists of 36 acres of fine bottomland in the Mad River Valley, most of which is in good cultivation, and constitutes him a very pleasant home and residence.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 998
JONAH BALDWIN One of the Commissioners in the council with Tecumseh held in the village in 1807 was Jonah Baldwin, who was selected because of his sound judgment and excellent character. He came to Springfield in 1804, a young and then unmarried man. He built it large two-story frame house some years after his arrival, on a lot a little east of Limestone street, on Main street. Here he opened a tavern, which also served him as an office as a Justice of the Peace. He had a remarkable memory for dates and circumstances connected with the history of the nation. Mr. Baldwin died near Springfield in 1865, having attained the age of eighty-eight years.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 436
CHARLES ELIHU BALLARD. The profession of law at Springfield is ably represented by Charles Elihu Ballard, who has had a successful and busy professional career, in which he has attained a high place in his calling. During the twenty-three years that he has practiced at Springfield he has not only established a high personal reputation for ability and character, but has also served acceptably in positions of trust and responsibility.
Mr. Ballard was born in August, 1865, on a farm in Clinton County, Ohio, and is a son of Abram and Mary J. (Oren) Ballard. David Ballard, the great-great-grandfather of Charles E. Ballard, was born in Virginia, and in 1800 came to the present site of Wilmington, Ohio. A Quaker in religious faith, he served as preacher at Quaker meeting, and was probably the first of that denomination in that part of the country. His son, John Ballard, the great-grand father of Charles E. Ballard, accompanied his father to Wilmington, in which locality he entered Government land and engaged in agricultural pursuits during the remainder of his life. Joseph Ballard, the grandfather of Charles, was born at Wilmington, in 1812, and married Susanna Stillings, who had been brought from Virginia to Clinton County by her parents about 1825, the family traveling overland in true pioneer fashion.
Abram Ballard was born in Clinton County, Ohio, where he was given a country school education, and on attaining his majority followed in the footsteps of his forefathers and adopted the vocation of farming, which he followed throughout his life. He was a man of industry and probity, and in his death, which occurred in 1913, his community lost a reliable and public-spirited citizen. Mr. Ballard married Miss Mary J. Oren, who died in 1892, a daughter of Elihu and Jane (Newcomb) Oren, the former born in Tennessee, whence he came with his father, John Oren, to Clinton County, Ohio, in 1810. Elihu Oren was a farmer and schoolteacher, and during the Civil war and prior thereto was an ardent Union man and abolitionist. His home served as a station on the Underground Railway, and he assisted many slaves to the securing of their freedom by helping to send them to a safe refuge in Canada. He married in Clark County in 1830, and immediately thereafter moved to Clinton County, where he spent the rest of his life. He and the members of his family belonged to the Society of Friends. The children born to Abram and Mary J. (Oren) Ballard were: Clara, who died at Adrian, Michigan, in September, 1921, as the wife of Hiram Arnold; Charles Elihu, of this review; and Joseph F., who is the owner of a model farm in Clinton County.
Charles Elihu Ballard attended the public schools of his home locality, following which he pursued a course at Wilmington College. He then took up his professional studies at the Cincinnati Law School, from which he was graduated in 1894 with the degree of Bachelor of Law, and immediately thereafter commenced his professional labors at South Charleston. After five years he decided that Springfield offered a wider field for the demonstration of his abilities, and he accordingly opened an office at this city, which has since been the scene of his success. He has always practiced independently and has carried on a general law business. For four years, 1913, 1914, 1915 and 1916. he served ably as prosecuting attorney, establishing an excellent record for industry and close attention to the duties of his office. In 1890 he served as census enumerator. Mr. Ballard is a republican in politics. As a fratemalist he holds membership in Springfield Lodge No. 146, I. O. O. F., and Springfield Lodge No. 51, B. P. O. E.
In March, 1915, Mr. Ballard was united in marriage with Miss Jessie Parker, of Springfield, Ohio, daughter of William J. and Libby (Stewart) Parker, and to this union there has come one son, Charles Jesse, born March 1, 1916.
Source: A Standard History of Springfield and Clark County, Ohio by Benjamin F. Prince, 1922, page 408
CHARLES P. BALLARD, deceased. Mr. C. P. Ballard was born at Framington, Mass., on Nov. 7, 1820; he came to Athens, Ohio, in 1840, where he was engaged in mercantile pursuits, and to Springfield just after the war; he commenced manufacturing in Springfield about 1866, buying out McClellan’s interest in the firm of Rinehart & McClellan, the firm thus formed of Rinehart, Ballard & Co., continuing up to the present time. Mr. Ballard was twice married, first to Electa Stewart Hawkes, whom he lost by death, and then, on May 15, 1862, he married in New York City Miss Eunice E. Hibbard, of Massachusetts. Of Mr. Ballard’s children three are living, to wit: William Whiting, who is in Colorado for business and health; and Misses Susie and Helen, who live with their mother in their elegant home on High street. Mr. Ballard was an exemplary Christian, estimable citizen, and essentially a substantial man in every way; he was Deacon in the Presbyterian Church at Athens, and Elder in the Second Presbyterian Church here; he died July 19, 1878. Mrs. Ballard retains her interest in the firm, of which appropriate mention is made in the historical part of this work. Two of his children are dead—Mary and John. Mr. Ballard’s father died the 23d of August, 1880, nearly 90 years old.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 885
JAMES V. BALLENTINE, Justice of the Peace, Lawrenceville; born in Cumberland Co., Penn., Oct. 14, 1823; is a son of William and Nancy A. (Nail) Ballentine, natives of Ireland, who emigrated to America in 1798 and located in Pennsylvania, where he raised a family of thirteen children, six sons and seven daughters, of whom four sons and two daughters still survive—Robert, Mathew, David, James V., Margaret and Elizabeth. In 1831, Mr. Ballentine came to Ohio with his family, and, after a short stay in Montgomery Co., removed, in 1832, to German Township, Clark Co., where he spent the remainder of his life; he died Nov. 15, 1851; his wife died June 11, 1843. He was an industrious, hard-working man; left his native land to escape the oppression of the English Government; he sought and obtained an asylum in this “land of the free,” landing here when the hand of civilization and enterprise had done comparatively little toward building cities and developing the wonderful resources of this now great and growing country. Our subject was brought up to farm labor, receiving a common-school education, with two terms of six months each attendance at a high school in Springfield. Was married, Aug. 20, 1853, to Rosanna, daughter of John and Sarah Domer, natives of Maryland; issue, five children; four now survive—Charles F., Sarah Jane, Anna and Marion S. Mr. Ballentine followed dealing in stock till 1855; thence gave his attention to farming, following agricultural pursuits till the spring of 1877, when he sold his farm and bought property in Springfield, and some in Lawrenceville, locating upon the latter, where he has since resided. This course he took that he might have better privileges to educate his children, being one of those believing in education and progress. His eldest son is now in Springfield studying for the profession of a lawyer. The youngest son is prosecuting his studies, in preparation for some profession. Mr. Ballentine has been a prominent man of his township, having held office a great portion of his life. Was Assessor seven years, and Assistant Assessor five years; Revenue Assessor two years; Real Estate Assessor one year, and Justice of the Peace nine years.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 998
LOUIS BANCROFT, retired merchant, Springfield. Mr. Bancroft is perhaps the oldest man who has lived continuously in the city; he came to Springfield in 1816, and established himself as one of the leading dry goods merchants during his business life; he also engaged in other ventures, all of which proved successful; at one time, he was a wholesale dealer in liquors, but, through the remonstrances of friends, relinquished the very profitable business; for ten years he was County Gauger and Government Inspector, and he handled annually 10,000 barrels of liquor. He was born in Massachusetts in 1792, came West in 1816, and was married to Miss Mary Christie in 1819; she was born in 1800, in New Boston, N. H.; they are the parents of six children—Leonidas, Phraotes E., La Fayette, Oscar Fitz, Amanda M., and Flavilla G. Another son, Louis Waters, died in infancy. Leonidas married Miss Mary Hartwell; Pharotes wedded Miss Lou Mayhew; Oscar is the husband of Miss Jennie Myers; Amanda is the wife of Benjamin P. Churchill; and Flavilla, married Mr. William Kleiman. All were wedded before except one, and, with the exception of Mrs. Churchill, live in the city. Mr. Bancroft was a resident of this county two years before the organization of Clark County, and has until the past few years been actively connected with its business interests. In October he will be 89 years of age. There is only one house now standing in the city that stood when he came here. He was a soldier in the war of 1812, and while Deputy Sheriff during the early settlement of the county, achieved quite a reputation as an efficient officer, the men in some parts of the county being a very lawless set. He and his wife now live at their ease in a tasty cottage on West Washington street, and enjoy the respect of every one in the city.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 785
PHRAOTES E. BANCROFT, hatter, Springfield. Mr. P. E. Bancroft was born in Springfield on Jan. 28, 1822, and is one of six children—four brothers and two sisters; he has been twice married—first, to Miss Catherine Moody, in 1844, by whom he had no children to live: and he married again in 1859, Lou M. Mayhew, of Warren County, by whom he has had one son, Robert Christie, born Nov. 7, 1866—an exceptionally good and dutiful boy, and a great source of comfort and pride to his parents. Mr. Bancroft learned his trade with the firm of Cotes, Lathrop & Arden, entering his apprenticeship in 1839: commenced business for himself in his present stand in 1851, where he has grown with Springfield, been quite successful, and is doing now the principal hat and cap trade. His family attend the First Presbyterian Church. Mr. Bancroft, although not drafted, sent voluntarily to the army a substitute, at an expense to himself of about $700. Of his brothers and sisters, Leonidas has a billiard room; La Fayette is a tinner; Oscar F. is a photographer; and his two sisters are Mrs. Amanda Churchill and Mrs. Flavilla G. Kleiman. Mr. Bancroft’s father, Louis Bancroft, is entitled to the distinction of being the oldest citizen, and no man knows more of early Springfield than he.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 786
HORATIO BANES (deceased). Among the early prominent pioneers of Clark Co., Horatio Banes stood deservedly high. He was born in Virginia Aug. 11, 1791, and was the son of Evan and Mrs. Sina (Chenoweth, nee Hayes) Banes, he a native of Pennsylvania and she of Virginia, who came to Moorefield Township, Clark Co., Ohio, in 1811, locating upon the farm where their descendants yet live, Evan dying Nov. 3, 1827, and his wife March 28, 1836. They had four children—Horatio, Gabriel, Evan and Sarah, all of whom are now dead, the two latter dying in Champaign Co., Ohio, Sarah being the wife of William Chenoweth, and Gabriel dying in Illinois. Horatio Banes was 20 years of age when his parents came to this county, and, being a young man full of vigor, he commenced to clear up the farm, while his father, who was a physician and a student of the celebrated Dr. Rush, of Philadelphia, continued to practice his profession during his lifetime, having a very extensive practice. Mr. Banes was married, May 6, 1824, to Miss Polly Miller, daughter of Robert and Elizabeth Miller, a sketch of whom will be found in this work. Mrs. Banes had born to her eleven children, viz., Robert M., Louisa (the wife of Justus Wilson), Joseph (deceased), Ruben, John (deceased), Gabriel W., Evan deceased), Elizabeth (the wife of W. G. Waters, of Toledo, Ohio), Nelson (deceased), David (deceased) and Sarah (deceased). She was born in Fleming Co., Ky., Feb. 23, 1800, and has been a member of the M. E. Church all her life, and is the only survivor of a class of seventy-five persons who organized the Moorefield M. E. Church at an early day. She is now past 81 years of age, and still resides upon the old homestead, and awaiting patiently the call to a better world, where she will meet her loved ones gone on before. Horatio Banes during his vigor, brought his farm of 240 acres into good cultivation, which took many years of hard labor, and there he peacefully died Sept. 5, 1868, aged 77, full of honorable years, devoted to fulfilling the duties of an upright citizen, good neighbor, kind father, fond husband and trusted official. He was an officer of militia, and filled from the lowest rank up to that of Major General. He held many township offices; was Justice of the Peace for a number of years, taking an active interest in the advancement and progress of education and all public improvements of his day, and possessed the entire confidence of his community. His parents came to Old Columbia, Ohio, in 1802, where they lived a few years; thence moved to Warren Co., where his father, Evan Banes, was instrumental in laying out the town of Waynesville, and there they resided until their removal to Moorefield Township.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 981
SAMUEL BARNETT, deceased. This well-known gentleman was born in Hanover, Dauphin Co., Penn., Sept. 30, 1790, and, at the age of 16, was left an orphan; had to struggle with adversity for many years, but finally, by dint of energy and honesty of purpose, he surmounted every obstacle to substantial success. He came to Ohio in 1817, settling in Warren County, residing in that and Butler Counties until 1841, when he came to Springfield, where he and his brother James, who had preceded him several years, erected a large flouring-mill, which was at that time the largest industrial enterprise of which Springfield could boast. He continued his milling business until 1859, then selling out to his son William A. Barnett and William Warder, retired from business. He was married, at West Hanover, Penn., Aug. 27, 1815, to Mary Mitchell, by the Rev. James Sharon, Pastor of Derry Church. She was born in West Hanover Jan. 16, 1790, and had born to her ten children, viz., James, Susannah W. (deceased), David M. (deceased), Mary, William A., Levi, Nancy A., Sarah, George W. and Samuel. Mrs. Barnett died May 17, 1851, and her husband May 10, 1869, full of honorable years. Samuel Barnett was a humble and devoted Christian, and warmly attached to the United Presbyterian Church, of which he was an active and useful member; he lived to see all his children married, and all with sons-in-law and daughters-in-law members of his own church, with the exception of two, who are connected with another denomination. James, his eldest son, a graduate of Miami University, is a minister, and was sent in 1844 as a missionary to Damascus, Syria, and Cairo, Egypt, where he resided many years in establishing the now flourishing United Presbyterian Mission of the latter place, being in the foreign mission service thirty years, and now residing in Emporia, Kan. Mary married Dr. Joseph G. Paulding, and they accompanied James as missionaries to Damascus, where they resided eleven years. Mr. Barnett was a man of great personality, a vigorous character, of undeviating integrity; in personal appearance, tall, raw-boned, commanding, yet amiable, a man universally trusted and respected, whose counsels were sought, and whose friendship was esteemed a privilege to enjoy.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 786
WILLIAM A. BARNETT, miller, Springfield. Mr. William A. Barnett was born Oct. 8, 1822, in Butler Co., Ohio, and passed the early part of his life in Butler and Warren Counties until 1841, when he came with his father, Samuel Barnett, to Springfield. The family are now much scattered, some living in Illinois, some in Kansas and elsewhere. William A. went to Miami University in early life; was in his father’s mill from August, 1845, to July 1, 1859, when he and William Warder (of the Warder family so prominent here), bought the property and business from Mr. Samuel Barnett, and have been carrying on the business under the name and style of Warder & Barnett, with gratifying success for twenty-one years, making thirty-five years in all of one business in one spot—a rare example of continuity of purpose and effort. On Dec. 18, 1855, he was married to Miss S. Belle Grove, of Chambersburg, Penn; of their children, Annie S., Ella M. and a son are living, and they lost a son at 3 months of age. Their daughter Ella has recently married the Rev. Joseph Kyle, Pastor of the United Presbyterian Church of this city, of which Mr. Barnett’s family are members. For full history of the Warder & Barnett milling interest reference is made to the industrial branch of this history. Mr. Barnett mentions a curious fact that in his daily walks to and from his residence during his business life here, he has traversed on Limestone street alone over twenty-five thousand miles, or more than the whole circumference of the globe. He is one of those straightforward true men, the same to-day, to-morrow and always, and one whom all respect and honor; a man upon whom one can depend to the full extent of all he promises.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 787
ANTHONY BARNHART, farmer; P. O. North Hampton. The gentleman whose name stands at the head of this sketch is the son of Daniel and Catharine Barnhart, natives of Roanoke Co., Va.; Daniel was married twice, but the date of the marriage with his first wife and of her death cannot be ascertained; he was the father of twenty-two children—two sons and nine daughters by the first wife, seven of whom are now living, viz.: Lydia, born July 17, 1814; Hannah, born July 2, 1816; Susannah, born Feb. 24, 1818; Frances, born March 26, 1820; Joel, born March 4, 1822; Nancy, born Oct. 15, 1827; John, born May 4, 1830; and by his second marriage he had nine sons and two daughters, six now living, viz.: Daniel, born Sept. 22, 1836; Anthony, born Dec. 25, 1837; Abraham, born Sept. 28, 1839; Jeremiah and Josiah (twins), born Dec. 30, 1844; Christian, born Jan. 13, 1847. Mrs. Barnhart departed this life in July, 1867, and Mr. Barnhart followed her in 1869. Anthony assisted his father with the farm labor until he was 21 years of age, and then came to Ohio and located in this county and township. In October, 1859, he celebrated his marriage with Sarah, daughter of Philip and Lucinda (Rader) Graybill, natives of Virginia. Soon after his marriage he moved to Indiana and remained there two and a half years, and came back to this township and purchased the farm where he now resides. He is the father of eleven children, viz.: William W., born June 23, 1860; Josephus E., born July 15, 1862; Henry A., born Oct. 8, 1863; John F., born Nov. 16, 1865; George W., born Nov. 10, 1867; Mary E., born Dec. 16, 1869; Margaret E., born Oct. 22, 1871; Nora L., born July 18, 1874; Asa C. and Jessie K. (twins), born July 24, 1876; Hettie F., born June 2, 1879. Mr. Barnhart has a beautiful farm of 100 acres, under a high state of cultivation, also a very desirable residence with improvements to correspond.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 1012
DR. W. H. BARNWELL; P. O. South Charleston; was born Sept. 10, 1832, in Ashtabula Village, Ashtabula Co., Ohio; has been a resident of this county twenty-three years. His father and mother were natives of Northamptonshire, England, and came to this country in the early part of 1832. The latter is still living in Harmony Village, this county, in the 74th year of her age. April 23, 1861, he enlisted as a private soldier with Capt. Phil. Kershner, 16th O. V. I., and served four months; assisted in organizing the 44th O. V. I. in the fall of 1861; sworn into the service as a private soldier; elected Second Lieutenant Co. F; served in that capacity until promoted to First Lieutenant and assigned to Co. B, where he served until the expiration of term of enlistment of the 44th, participating in every battle or skirmish the regiment was ever engaged in, among which was the battle of Lewisburg, Va., May 23, 1862, that Gen. George Crook’s said was “the neatest little stand-up fight of the war.” April, 1865, he was appointed United States Detective, with headquarters at Nashville, Tenn., under orders of Gen. Thomas, and held that position until after the close of the war, and the office was abandoned March, 1866; read medicine with Dr. James S. R. Hazzard, of Springfield, and graduated at the Cincinnati College of Medicine and Surgery June, 1871; since which time has been constantly in the active practice of his profession; is a member of Clark County Medical Society, and served one year as its President; married to Lucina E. Sprague, daughter of Darius Sprague, of Harmony Township, this county, Nov. 14, 1867, by whom he has three children— Jessie H., born Aug. 27, 1868; Ollie L., born March 9, 1872, and William Hayes, born Nov. 6, 1876; present residence, South Charleston, Clark Co., O.; is and always has been a firm adherent to the regular practice of medicine.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 1059
EDWIN L. BARRETT, publisher of specialties, Springfield. Mr. Edwin L. Barrett is a New Englander, having been born on Aug. 20, 1827, in Worcester Co., Mass; his family on both sides was long lived; his mother, who now lives alternately with her children, being 78; her family name was Lawrence. His father was among the early cotton manufacturers of Massachusetts; owned a cotton-factory in Mr. Barrett’s native county. On Jan. 4, 1849, he married, at Ashburnham, Mass., Miss Sarah B. Petts, a native of New York, daughter of Dr. John Petts and sister of Quincy A. Petts, Clark County Auditor, both residents of Springfield, the former being in his 84th year; by this union he had eight children—six sons and two daughters—of whom only three sons are living now, viz., Edward L., aged 30, and Fred W., aged 22, partners in business with their father; and George Lawrence, aged 19, now in Wittenberg College. Having lost his wife in 1865, Mr. Barrett married, on March 18, 1867, Miss Clara D. Hulsey, a native of Milledgeville, Ga., by whom he has had a son and a daughter now respectively 8 and 11 years old. At the age of 21, on account of failing health, Mr. Barrett went to North Carolina, living alternately in Franklin, Halifax and Warren Counties, where he remained until 1856, spending his time in teaching, having, in the meantime, charge of a female seminary at White Sulphur Springs, and one also at Warrenton; he went from North Carolina to Oxford, Butler Co., Ohio, where, in connection with Rev. J. H. Buchanan, he conducted the Oxford Female Institute, continuing until 1861, from where, at that time, he came to Springfield, Ohio; here he went into the book business with Charles L. Petts, under the firm name of Barrett & Petts, later becoming associated with G. W. Hastings (now of the Springfield Republic), under the firm name of Hastings, Barrett & Petts, together carrying on, with their former business, book-binding and printing; this was in 1862, and continued several years; his brother-in-law and partner, Charles L. Petts, is now no more. On the dissolution of this firm, Mr. Barrett was for several years out of active business, his health again failing him; in 1865, he bought him a little farm a few miles out on the Charleston road, more, as he says, to die upon than anything else, and spent the intervening years between 1865 and 1867 in maturing legal and other forms, subsequently utilized in business, and, his health in the meantime becoming re-established, he commenced, in 1867, the business of his present firm of E. L. Barrett & Sons, for the manufacture of specialties in the line of legal, election and other blanks and forms and conveniences, which, under his thorough and careful management, has grown to be quite extensive and profitable. In 1872, he took his eldest son into partnership, and on Jan. 1, 1880, his second son was admitted to the firm; on the 27th of April, 1875, his eldest son, Edward L., was united in marriage with Miss Flora C. Lyon, of Cincinnati, and has now two sons and one daughter. Mr. Barrett, Sr., and his married son and their families, live in adjoining houses in the same farm he purchased in 1865. Most of Mr. Barrett’s family are members and all attend the First Presbyterian Church. Mr. Barrett is one of those excellent, even-tempered men who go so largely to make up the most worthy part of all communities—kind, exact, careful, moderate, temperate, earnest and honorable; the influence of such men, while not sensibly pervading and aggressive, is only felt for good.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 787
AMOS BARR, general insurance agent, Springfield. While Mr. Amos Barr has not been a resident of Springfield as long as some others, he is most thoroughly identified with its interests. Born in Lancaster Co., Penn., in 1810, he came to Lebanon, Ohio, upon attaining his majority; removed to Cincinnati in 1858, and to Springfield in 1865. In 1834, he married Miss Martha H. Smith, of Strasburg, Penn., and of seven children born him, four daughters and one son are living, to wit, Mrs. Mary Winger, Mrs. Ann E. Smith, both of Springfield; Mrs. Martha B. Sperry, of Nashville, Tenn.; Mrs. Emma B. Scholl, of Baltimore; and Benjamin H. Barr, a resident of Chattanooga, Tenn., making a family group of seventeen when all together. The venerable subject of this sketch has been for many years identified with insurance interests, having been, since 1863, agent of that mammoth and honorable institution, the Cincinnati Mutual Life Insurance Company, with its $50,000,000 assets, and Mr. Barr has paid out to beneficiaries in Springfield alone over $100,000, and numbers among his policy-holders several hundred of Springfield’s best men; he is also privileged agent of the Northwestern Mutual Life of Milwaukee, and regular agent of the Firemen’s Fund of California, Farmer’s Fire of York, Penn., and Amazon Fire of Cincinnati. Mr. Barr is one of those benign, courteous men, whom to know is to respect and admire; quiet, unostentatious, fatherly, and the embodiment of true innate gentility.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 788
MRS. EMILY BARTHOLOMEW, Springfield. Mrs. Emily Bartholomew, nee Ebersole, is a native of Clark County; her father, John Ebersole, of Virginia. In his school days, Mr. Ebersole walked three miles to the nearest school, his path leading over the celebrated natural bridge. In early youth, he removed with his parents to Ohio; in 1819, married Miss Sally Keifer, of Sharpsburg, Md., who, with her parents, came to Ohio in childhood; after marriage, they went on horseback to his home in Cincinnati. In 1822, they removed to his forest home in German Township, this county, where he built one of the finest hewed-log houses of that day and generation, every log, plank, beam and panel passing through his skilled hands. Of their family of one son and four daughters, Dr. E. P. Ebersole has been for years the leading physician in Preble County, and the daughters reside in this and adjoining counties, and have all had experience as teachers in this county. From 12 to 15 years of age, Emily was with relatives in Troy, Miami Co., receiving careful training in the family, church and school; when 16, she received from Isaac H. Lancey, her first certificate as teacher, and her first efforts were in old log houses, teaching nine hours a day, thirteen weeks to a quarter, and receiving the princely remuneration of $8 per month. In some districts, almost any books were thought suitable for “readers,” Robinson Crusoe being quite a favorite in some localities. She spent eight years teaching in the county and attending the Ohio Conference High School, during which time great progress was made in the methods of and facilities for education; feminine ability was recognized, new and better houses and books were freely provided, fewer hours required and better wages paid. In 1852, she accepted a position in the Springfield Female Seminary, remaining five years. In 1859, she married Dr. J. Bartholomew, of Butte Co., Cal., a native of Ohio, a graduate of Dennison University, in which he remained a number of years after graduation as instructor, preparing, meanwhile, for the practice of medicine; in 1850, he drove an ox team across the plains to California, acting as Captain and physician of his company. Soon after marriage, they sailed from New York for the Pacific Coast; the Doctor’s death occurred four years thereafter, and Mrs. Bartholomew remained four years longer, and, in 1867, she, with her two little sons, Frank and Ralph, took the steamship Constitution, bound for New York, arriving in safety after a voyage of twenty-six days. Since 1868, she has resided permanently in this city, and her sons are each pursuing a college course. It is appropriate to make in this connection passing mention of Miss May Ebersole, a most estimable aunt of Mrs. Bartholomew, who commenced her life-work as a teacher in 1825; in 1833, she built the house still standing on the northwest corner of Columbia and Factory streets, and opened a day and boarding school for girls. The greater part of her life was devoted to instructing the young, and her zeal and earnestness in this direction were remarkable. She often remarked that the material she handled was imperishable, and that her work would be completed in eternity, and that therefore her vocation was especially dear to her. She died at an advanced age, at Murfreesboro, Tenn.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 788
OSCAR N. BARTHOLOMEW, now deceased, was for many years one of the leading contractors and builders of Springfield, but for some time prior to his demise was living in retirement. He was born in Tompkins County, New York, September 18, 1835, and died at Springfield, Ohio, February 5, 1918. His parents, Josiah and Chairy Ann (Eaton) Bartholomew, were natives of New York.
Growing up in his native state, Oscar N. Bartholomew was educated in an academy at Elmira, New York. For two years he served in the Union Army, as a member of the Seventy-sixth New York Volunteer Infantry, and among other important engagements, participated in that of the Wilderness. In 1872 he came to Springfield and went into a contracting business, and became an acknowledged authority on the design and construction of heavy buildings, a number of which were erected by him at Springfield, among which was the church building of the First Congregationalists, which was later destroyed by fire. He was noted for his fidelity to the spirit as well as the letter of his contracts, and no one ever stood any higher in public esteem than he.
On June 24, 1859, Mr. Bartholomew married Harriet M. Malory, born near the Mohawk River in New York State, a daughter of Charles and Elizabeth (Turner) Malory. Mr. and Mrs. Bartholomew had the pleasure of celebrating their Golden Wedding in 1909. Two children were born to them, namely: Ella R. and Charles J. but the latter died November 22, 1917.
After coming to Springfield Mr. Bartholomew affiliated with the First Congregational Church and later with the First Lutheran Church of this city, to which his widow also belonged, and she continued one of its active supporters until her death January 18, 1922. He was a zealous Mason, and very active in the work of Mitchell Post, Grand Army of the Republic. On each Memorial Day he rode at the head of the procession of the veterans, wearing his uniform, and mounted on a white charger, and his imposing figure is sadly missed on these days since his demise. He was an upright man of unflinching honesty, and never asked more of anyone than he was willing to give, but expected others to live up to the principles he believed so necessary for the maintenance of good government and proper business relations. His long life of useful endeavor and helpful effort along practical lines teaches a lesson, and his example may well be emulated by the rising generation.
Source: A Standard History of Springfield and Clark County, Ohio by Benjamin F. Prince, 1922, page 402
HENRY E. BATEMAN. Shrewd business ability, special adaptiveness to his vocation, appreciation of its many advantages and belief in his own power to succeed have placed Henry E. Bateman among the leading promoters of agriculture in Clark County. From the prairies his unaided hands brought forth ample means, permitting his retirement to South Charleston and his consigning to younger hands the tasks that made up the sum of his existence for many years. He has a modern home and is regarded as one of the financially strong and morally high retired farmers.
Mr. Bateman was born on a farm in Greene County, Ohio, August 21, 1837, and is a son of Daniel H. and Elizabeth (Sirlotte) Bateman, and a grandson of William and Margaret (Duckel) Bateman. Daniel H. Bateman was born near Baltimore, Maryland, on a farm, in 1783, and at the age of twenty-one years left his native state and moved to Ohio. He had an excellent education, having received instruction under his father, who conducted a private school near Baltimore, known as the Oxford of America. On coming to Ohio Mr. Bateman located at Chillicothe, having letters of introduction to the Rennicks, large cattle raisers of their day and locality, with whom he remained for four or five years, thus getting his start in life. Later he came to Greene County, Ohio, and was employed in the stock business with William Harpole until 1851. In that year he came to South Charleston, Clark County, where his death occurred February 2, 1863. In Greene County, in 1824, Mr. Bateman married Elizabeth Sirlotte, who was born in Bracken County, Kentucky, in 1799, and had a good education for her day and state. She died November 25, 1854, in the faith of the Methodist Episcopal Church, of which she was a very devout member. They were the parents of five children: William, who met his death on the Pacific Ocean when the ship on which he was traveling was wrecked and burned on the coast near the Magdalena Islands; Abner L., who died at Columbus, Ohio, March 15, 1916; Henry E., of this review; Ruth, deceased, who was the wife of Edward Garrett, who met his death at the same time that William Bateman died; and Margaret, who died in July, 1899, as the wife of Amos Briggs.
Henry E. Bateman went to the public schools and remained on the home place until his father’s death, remembers distinctly the Underground Railway, a station of which was conducted at his father’s home. Fugitive slaves, fleeing from their former masters in the South, were sheltered and passed on to the next station, finally arriving in Canada, where they were safe from pursuit and a return to bondage. When he entered upon his independent career Mr. Bateman adopted farming and dealing in stock as his life work, and this he followed during the active years of his life. Ever since his retirement he has lived in South Charleston, and is still interested in farms, although merely as a matter of investment.
On February 19, 1866, Mr. Bateman was united in marriage with Miss Annamelia Paullin, who was born in Clark County, Ohio, May 22, 1844, a daughter of Newcomb T. and Mary A. (Harpole) Paullin. She died in the faith of the Presbyterian Church, of which she had been a lifelong member, January 22, 1916. Mr. and Mrs. Batemen were the parents of two children: Howard D., a graduate of Phillips Academy, of Andover, Massachusetts, is now a capitalist of New York City, Mary B., a high school graduate and a graduate of the Phelps School of Columbus and the McDonald-Ellis School of Washington, D. C., married H. W. Paxton, a graduate of Wesleyan College, Delaware, Ohio, a prominent democrat and ex-member of the Ohio Legislature and now an attorney of Clark County. They have two children, Annamelia B. and Howard Bateman Paxton.
Mr. Bateman is a republican, while his religious faith is that of the Presbyterian Church. He is known throughout his locality as a dependable and upright man, one who regards his word as he would his bond, and who has ever maintained the highest method of farming and the noblest ideals of home and community life.
Source: A Standard History of Springfield and Clark County, Ohio by Benjamin F. Prince, 1922, page 218
CHARLES A. BAUER, M.E., Superintendent of Champion Bar & Knife Company, Springfield. Mr. Bauer is a native of Wurtemberg, Germany; in 1852, his father’s family then consisting of the father, mother and four children, of which number the subject of this sketch was the third, sailed for New York; during a long and stormy voyage, the ship was drifted from her course, and the family were unexpectedly landed at New Orleans, where, after the lapse of but ten months, the father fell a victim to the yellow fever. Mrs. Bauer’s situation was now a truly trying one—a stranger in a foreign country, surrounded by the depressing influences of a wide-spread epidemic; the little means originally possessed by the family wasted by travel and sickness; but, with that true fortitude which has ever been a characteristic of the German people, she resolved to seek a healthier home in the North, and arrived in Cincinnati in 1853, where she yet resides. At the age of 11 years, Mr. Bauer was employed in the pyrotechnic manufactory of H. P. Diehl; in 1861, he became an apprentice to the gunsmithing business; in 1864, he entered the shops of Miles Greenwood & Co. as practical machinist, devoting his leisure hours to the study of mathematics and applied mechanics; so successful was he in this that, in 1867, he was called to the Ohio Mechanics’ Institute as a teacher of drawing; in 1871, he resigned this situation to become Superintendent of the Niles Tool Works at Hamilton, Ohio, which he vacated in 1873 to assume the duties of Consulting Engineer for Lane & Bodley, at Cincinnati. In 1875, Mr. Bauer was tendered the position of Assistant Superintendent of the Champion Bar & Knife Company Works in Springfield; in 1878, he was promoted to be the Superintendent in charge of the establishment, where he now remains. In 1868, he was married to Miss Louise Haeseler, who came with her parents from St. Goar, Prussia, in 1851. Mrs. Bauer is a lady possessed of much refinement and culture with admirable social qualities; the children of this union are three in number—Charles L., William A. and Louis E. Mr. Bauer is a self-made man, and his career demonstrates what can be accomplished by application and economy of time; few mechanical men of this country can excel him in that peculiar faculty which enables one to analyze a difficult problem in mechanics, or trace causes to results, while his natural and acquired resources furnish a constant fund of cultivated ideas, ready for application in any emergency. He has a fine collection of technical works, which, with a choice selection of general and standard books, compose one of the best private libraries in the city.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 790
JACOB BAUGH, farmer and blacksmith; P. O. New Carlisle. Among Pike’s enterprising men may be placed the name of Jacob Baugh, a native of Germany, is the son of Christian and Catharine (Smith) Baugh, who emigrated to this country in 1832, and settled in Pennsylvania, where they remained one year, and came to Columbus, Ohio, and engaged work on the national roads, remaining one year. In the year 1834, he was placed near Springfield, Ohio, remaining several years. After leaving the road he followed various pursuits until his death. Jacob, the subject of this memoir, was born Oct. 9, 1830, and at the age of 16 years be commenced serving an apprenticeship in the blacksmith-shop of Peter Lenas at Donnelsville, with whom he remained eighteen months, and went to Springfield, and, at the end of nineteen months, finished his trade under John Click. In the year 1850, he engaged with Solomon Marley, serving him two years, after which he associated himself with Christian Foster, and withdrew at the end of seven months. Mr. Baugh has been twice married. On Oct. 9, 1855, he married his first wife, Margaretta Bickel, and came to Pike Township and purchased thirty acres of land, and built a residence in which he remained seven years, and disposed of it and bought the property he has at present. Mr. Baugh was left a widower July 7, 1868. Elizabeth, his second wife, was the daughter of Thomas and Mary Bules, of Champaign Co., Ohio. Mr. Baugh was the father of six children by his first wife; three now living—George W., born Aug. 25, 1856; Jacob, July 15, 1858; Clark, June 27, 1863.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 1013
CLIFFORD HOLLIDAY BAUMGARDNER, M.D., a physician and surgeon with offices in the Fairbanks Building at Springfield, saw active service with the Hospital Corps during the Spanish-American war, subsequently graduated in medicine, and has had a successful professional career for twenty years.
Doctor Baumgardner is a native of Clark County, born at Catawba, November 7, 1876, son of David S. and Susan L. (Ward) Baumgardner. His father was born in Ohio, son of Peter Lynch and Mary (Skillman) Baumgardner, who were also natives of Clark County. His great-grandfather Baumgardner was one of the first settlers in Pleasant Township, locating there when the Indians still made their home in this section of Ohio. David S. Baumgardner had a brother, Isaac, who died at Murfreesboro, Tennessee, while a Union soldier and was buried in Clark County. He had a sister, Lou B., now Mrs. Samuel Neer, living at Mechanicsburg, Ohio.
David S. Baumgardner enlisted in the Forty-fourth Ohio Infantry and subsequently veteranized with the Eighth Ohio Cavalry and was in service until the close of the war. After the war he engaged in the undertaking business at Catawba, being associated with his father in that work. As undertakers after the pioneer custom of the time the firm made caskets to order. They were also contractors and built a number of schoolhouses and other buildings in that vicinity. He finally removed to Springfield and was in the maintenance of way department of the Big Four Railroad. He died in 1910. His wife, Susan L. Ward, was born in Virginia, daughter of Paragon Ward, a native of Maryland. Her mother was a native of Virginia and a cousin of Gen. Robert E. Lee. She came to Catawba with two sisters shortly after the close of the Civil war, and died in this county in 1887. The two sons of David S. Baumgardner and wife are Doctor Ward L., a dentist at Columbus, and Clifford Holliday.
Clifford Holliday Baumgardner attended grammar and high schools at Catawba and Springfield, was a student in the Maple Park University of Cincinnati, and graduated in 1903 in the Ohio Medical University of Columbus. His service with the Hospital Corps during the SpanishAmerican war started soon after the outbreak of hostilities and continued until November, 1898. After graduating he had a year’s experience in hospital work at Columbus, and engaged in private practice there for two years. For seven years his home was at Selma, Ohio, and since then he has been identified with the medical profession at Springfield, and since 1915 has had his offices in the Fairbanks Building.
On February 22, 1899, Mr. Baumgardner married Miss Marie L. Wilson, who was born at Fredonia, New York, June 2, 1880, daughter of Charles Walter and Affa L. (Lowell) Wilson, both natives of Chautauqua County, New York. Her maternal grandparents were James and Jane (Schlick) Lowell. James Lowell started one of the first vineyards in Chautauqua County. Sherman Lowell, a brother of Affa L. Lowell, is now national grand master of the Farmers Grange. Doctor and Mrs. Baumgardner have one child, Lowell Ward, born June 30, 1902. Mrs. Baumgardner was educated in the State Normal School of New York. She is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Doctor Baumgardner is a republican, is affiliated with the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks of Springfield and the Junior Order United American Mechanics.
Source: A Standard History of Springfield and Clark County, Ohio by Benjamin F. Prince, 1922, page 218
WILLIAM BAYLEY has been a resident of Springfield since 1875 and has been a prominent and influential figure in the civic and industrial development and progress of this city. He was born at Baltimore, Maryland, July 28, 1845, and bears the full patronymic of his father, William Bayley, Sr., who was born in Staffordshire, England, and who was a young man when he came to the United States, in company with his brother and sister. Here he engaged in the work of his trade, that of slater, and here he married Mary Ann Mason, who was of New England Colonial ancestry. Mr. Bayley, Sr., was associated with Wildey in the founding and organizing of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, of which he eventually became grand master of the Maryland Grand Lodge. He continued his residence in Baltimore until he met an accidental death, in 1858. His widow survived him a number of years, and of their eleven children William, of this review, is the youngest.
Mr. Bayley was reared in his native city, where his educational advantages were those of the schools of the period. In 1861 he entered upon an apprenticeship as a machinist with the engineering firm of Poole & Hunt, the business of which is now conducted under the title of the Poole Engineering Company. His original stipend was $1.50 a week, but his wages were increased by one dollar a week as soon as the Civil war began. He completed his apprenticeship at the age of twenty-one years, and by this time he had been placed in charge of the drafting department. Prior to this, through the advice and persuasion of his mother, Mr. Bayley attended night school, where he devoted special attention to the study of engineering and drafting. He continued his connection with the Poole concern until 1870. In the meanwhile the firm has become interested in the Leffel water wheel, which was then being manufactured at Springfield, Ohio. John W. Bookwaiter, who was interested in the enterprise, had come to Baltimore to make arrangements for the manufacturing of the wheel, and incidentally Mr. Bayley produced requisite drawings for the invention. He saw an opportunity to improve the device, and secured a patent on his divergent discharge on the wheel bucket. A. B. Crowell, who had been interested in the Leffel wheel at Springfield, became associated with Mr. Bayley in the manufacturing of the Tatter’s improved invention at Wilmington, Delaware. The improvement thus devised is now in general use wherever water wheels are in commission. Mr. Crowell was soon succeeded by George Remington, but the financial panic of the early 70s so crippled Mr. Bayley that he was virtually compelled to begin over again, in 1875, the depression having made his manufacturing enterprise unsuccessful in returns.
February 21, 1871, recorded the marriage of Mr. Bayley and Miss Mary E. Dicus, whose brother, James A., had been a fellow apprentice with Mr. Bayley in the Poole establishment and who also had served as a soldier in the Civil war. After the war James A. Dicus came to Springfield, Ohio, and had here been employed by the Leffel people and by Whitely, Fassler & Kelly, reaper manufacturers. Through the influence of Mr. Dicus Mr. Bayley came to Springfield in 1875, and likewise found employment with the firm of Whitely, Fassler & Kelly. In 1889 Messrs. Dicus and Bayley became connected with the Rogers Fence Company, which later became known as the Rogers Iron Company. About 1904 the business was reorganized under the title of the William Bayley Company, and of this corporation, now one of the important manufacturing concerns of Springfield, Mr. Bayley still continues the president, though the active management of the business is now vested in his four sons, William D., Guy D., Lee and Elden. Being a great lover of nature and of the great out-of-doors, Mr. Bayley finds much satisfaction in the use of his automobile, but he still gives a general supervision to his varied and important business interests. His incentive genius has been employed in various ways, especially in devising improvements on harvesting machinery and devices now being made by his Company. He is a member of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, is a republican in politics, and he and his wife are members of the High Street Methodist Episcopal Church. He was a member of the first Board of Park Commissioners of Springfield, and as such did much to improve the parks. In this connection he has designed and erected bridges in various sections of Springfield, besides which he has designed and built many other bridges in Clark County. In addition to the four sons already mentioned Mr. and Mrs. Bayley have one daughter, Mary, who is the wife of Colonel Joseph Hyde Pratt, present state geologist of North Carolina.
Source: A Standard History of Springfield and Clark County, Ohio by Benjamin F. Prince, 1922, page 103
ELIJAH BEARDSLEY, deceased, was born in New Fairfield, Conn., May 27, 1760; at the age of 16, he entered and served in the war for American independence; was married at New Fairfield, the place of his nativity, to Sally Hubbel, June 27, 1780, to whom were born fourteen children—six sons and eight daughters; about A. D. 1796, removed to Delaware Co., N. Y.; early in the war of 1812, he removed with his family to the State of Ohio; lived a short time in Urbana, Champaign Co., thence to Springfield, then Champaign (now Clark) County, where his good wife died, July 23, 1823; he survived until Oct. 2, 1826, and died at the age of 66 years; he lived and died a true and honored patriot. At this time, the only member of his family now living at Springfield, Clark Co., Ohio, is Laura, the wife of J. S. Christie, aged 78 years.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 790
JOHN BEAVER, brick-mason and contractor, Springfield. John Beaver was born May 23, 1829, in England; came to Springfield in 1859, at the age of 30 years. He was married in England, in 1849, to Helen Corcoran, and of six children, only three daughters are living. Mr. Beaver has been successful in Springfield—the result, however, of unflagging energy, close attention to business, and living strictly up to all his contracts. A great number of the buildings of this thriving city are of his erection, and all of the many and immense Champion shops. Mr. Beaver is a member of good standing of the Palestine Commandery, No. 33, Knights Templar; Springfield Council, No. 17, Royal and Select Masters; Springfield Royal Arch Chapter, No. 48; Clark Lodge, No. 101, of Free and Accepted Masons; and Springfield Lodge, No. 33, Independent Order of Odd Fellows; also the Encampment. He lives in his own snug little home, with his daughters, at No. 18 Clifton street.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 790
READ LETTS BELL, M.D., allopathic physician, Springfield. Dr. R. L. Bell was born in Morgan Township, Knox Co., Ohio; was the recipient of a liberal education, graduating from the Dennison University, Licking Co., Ohio, in June, 1872; then took a full medical course in Harvard University, of Massachusetts, graduating in 1876; practiced one year in Toledo, after which he settled permanently in Springfield, where he has had gratifying success, even beyond his expectations. On Jan. 18, 1877, he consummated a matrimonial alliance with Miss Sarah J. Robinson, of Coshocton, Ohio. Dr. Bell, although intended by his parents for a healer of souls, finds himself to-day in the almost as important work of healing bodies; as a boy he was, and even now is, a close student and a great reader, and possesses a fine memory, clearly calling to mind his schoolmates at the early age of 3 years. Dr. Bell stood well in his class in college; was its poet, and in his junior year was associate editor of the college paper. Dr. Bell is a man of prepossessing appearance, clear-cut features, pleasing address, and possesses all the qualities for success in his profession. The Doctor is also Fellow of the Massachusetts Medical Society of Boston.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 790
READ LETTS BELL, M.D. Regarded as the Dean of the Springfield medical profession, Doctor Bell has continued an active practice of medicine and surgery in that city for forty-five years. In that time he has three times been honored with the office of president of the Clark County Medical Society. He graduated in medicine with the class of 1876, the centennial year, at Harvard Medical School, being one of the thirty-six graduates in that year from that old and famous professional school of Harvard University.
Doctor Bell was born December 8, 1850, on a farm near Utica, Ohio. He represents two well known families in this state, the Bell and the Letts families. His grandfather, Benjamin Bell, was born in Greene County, Pennsylvania, and in 1803, the year after Ohio was admitted to the Union, came to this state, settling in Knox County. Bell’s Meeting House, built in his time and on his land, is a landmark in that county and is still used as a church. While in Pennsylvania Benjamin Bell married Elizabeth McClellan. Her father, Carey McClellan, was a soldier of the Revolution in Washington’s Army, Captain John Marshall’s Company.
The father of Doctor Bell was Jacob Bell, who was born and spent all his life in Knox County, where he followed farming. He died in 1873. His wife, Rachael Letts, was born in Washington County, Pennsylvania, daughter of David and Thankful (Read) Letts, who on coming from Southwestern Pennsylvania settled in the Bell neighborhood of Knox County, Ohio. She died in 1874.
During his early years Doctor Bell lived on a farm, shared in its labors, attended the common schools of Knox County, and completed his literary education in Dennison University at Granville, Ohio, where he received the A.B. degree in 1872, and in 1875 his alma mater bestowed upon him the Master of Arts degree. In the meantime he had enrolled as a student in Harvard Medical School at Boston, graduated in 1876, and in the following year began his long and useful service as a physician at Springfield. His professional associates have always admired his remarkable vigor as well as the ability he has displayed in his profession, and apparently he is as active today as he was a quarter of a century ago. For many years Dr. Bell was on the surgical staff of the Springfield City Hospital, and he performed the first operation for appendicitis in that hospital. His patient is still living. Besides his active official connection with the Clark County Medical Society, Doctor Bell is a member of the Ohio State and the American Medical Associations. He is affiliated with Anthony Lodge, F. and A. M., Palestine Commandery No. 33, K. T., and is a member of the Episcopal Church.
In 1878 he married Sarah Robinson, who was born near Coshocton, Ohio, daughter of Edmund Robinson. Doctor Bell’s only daughter spent three years in the study of kindergarten methods in Chicago, and is now engaged in the work of her profession at Pottsville, Pennsylvania.
Source: A Standard History of Springfield and Clark County, Ohio by Benjamin F. Prince, 1922, page 196
VIRGIL AUSTIN BELL. One of the younger members of the Clark County bar is Virgil Austin Bell, who since 1920 has been identified with the well-known Springfield law firm of Zimmerman, Zimmerman & Zimmerman, and who has made a favorable impression on his associates during his comparatively short professional career.
Mr. Bell was born July 4, 1888, at Springfield, and is a son of Darius W. and Sarah (Fansler) Bell. His grandparents on the maternal side were Noah and Melvina (Neese) Fansler, the former a native of Virginia and the latter of Champaign County, Ohio.
Virgil Austin Bell attended the public schools of Springfield and of Clark County, and the high school at Marion, Ohio. His professional studies were prosecuted at Baldwin-Wallace College, Berea, Ohio, from which he was graduated in 1920, in June of which year he was admitted to the Ohio bar. Soon thereafter Mr. Bell identified himself with the law firm of Zimmerman, Zimmerman & Zimmerman, and this connection has continued to the present.
Mr. Bell is unmarried and resides at the home of his parents, 715 West High Street. He is independent in politics, not having formally allied himself with any political party. Fraternally he is affiliated with Marion Camp, Modern Woodmen of America.
Source: A Standard History of Springfield and Clark County, Ohio by Benjamin F. Prince, 1922, page 375
WILLIAM H. BERGER, farmer; P. O. Lagonda. He is the son of Daniel and Ester (Body) Berger, and was born in Berks Co., Penn., Jan. 21, 1830; his parents were natives of Pennsylvania, and were married April 12, 1818; their family consisted of seven children—two boys and five girls; they came to this county in April, 1838, and settled in Lagonda, where they lived about one month; they then purchased (for $16 per acre) and removed to the farm which is now owned and occupied by William; his (William’s) father was born Nov. 5, 1794, and lived to the advanced age of 84 years; his mother was born Dec. 11, 1797; she is still in good health, living with William at the old homestead. William assisted his father, working for him until 22 years of age; he then rented the farm of his father, conducting it successfully seventeen years; during that time, he saved sufficient amount to enable him to purchase a part of the farm, and, by good management, in a few years more purchased the remainder, consisting in all of about 130 acres. At the age of 20, he taught the winter term of a school in Moorefield Township, this county; this was his first school; he continued teaching during the winter terms of the schools near home twenty-five years, being a successful teacher. He was married, March 18, 1852, to Mary J., daughter of John and Mary Jackson; she was born in Virginia Jan. 11, 1830; being left an orphan while yet a little child, she came to Ohio with her uncle, William Moore, and lived with him until her marriage with Mr. Berger. Five children have blessed their home; they mourn the loss of two of them—Daniel F., who died Nov. 1, 1855, and William H., Jr., who died Nov. 9, 1866; the other three—John M., Elizabeth A. and Mary E.—still remain, a comfort to their parents. Strict integrity and honorable dealing have been leading virtues of his life; he has frequently been selected and appointed guardian of children and administrator of estates. He has filled the office of Sunday-school Superintendent for twenty-five years, in which position he is still serving.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 791
SILAS VAN BIRD, JR., law student, Springfield. Silas was born in this county Sept. 19, 1857; lived at home, working on the farm and attended school during the winter, until 1875, when he entered Wittenberg College; he graduated in 1880, with the same honors as the rest of his class; by the request of his class, the faculty allowed them to graduate without any “first and second honors,” each one graduating with equal honors. Silas is a young man of good moral habits, and is at present pursuing the study of law, with the expectation of making the practice of law his profession. Silas Bird, the father of Silas, Jr., is a native of Virginia, and came to this county with his parents in 1816, and, at the age of 17, began the trade of millwrighting, at which he worked until 50 years old, when he quit his trade, and has since then devoted his time to farming. He was married, March 8, 1848, to Margaret Tuttle, daughter of Caleb and Mary Tuttle.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 937
FRED W. BINNIG has made an excellent success of floriculture in his native county, and his fine greenhouses and nurseries are situated in Springfield Township, three and one-half miles southeast of Springfield, on the Selma Turnpike. Mr. Binnig is a young man who has thoroughly fortified himself in the scientific and practical details of modern floriculture, and his enthusiasm and progressive policies have brought to him both prestige and prosperity.
Mr. Binnig was born at Springfield, the county seat, on the 7th of June, 1894, and is a son of Christian and Sophia (Voll) Binnig, the former of whom was born in Germany, January 24, 1870, and the latter of whom was born at Springfield, Clark County, in 1863. Christian Binnig was about fourteen years of age when he came from his native land to the United States, in 1883. He became associated with the nursery business of the Storrs & Harrison Company of Painesville, Ohio, his preliminary training in this line of enterprise having been gained in Germany. He continued his alliance with this concern until 1888, when he came to Springfield and entered the employ of C. A. Reeser, who was here engaged in the greenhouse business. In 1893 he was made superintendent of the plant and business, and after the organization of a stock company to carry forward the business on a large scale he became vice president, of which position, together with that of superintendent, he continued the incumbent until his death, October 6, 1913. His marriage occurred June 21, 1893. Mrs. Binnig died February 19, 1922, an earnest communicant of St. John’s Evangelical Church, as was also her husband, he having served as president of the Church Council. Mr. Binnig was affiliated with the Masonic fraternity, the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, was independent in politics and was a substantial business man and loyal citizen who ever commanded unqualified popular esteem. Of the three children Fred W., immediate subject of this sketch, is the eldest; Carl C. is associated with the florist business of his elder brother, and Harold is engaged in the automobile business at Springfield, as a member of the firm of Townsley & Binnig.
The public schools of Springfield afforded Fred W. Binnig his early education, and after his graduation from high school he was for one year a student in the University of Ohio, the death of his father having interrupted his work at the university. In his independent business career Mr. Binnig has shown marked resourcefulness and progressiveness, his greenhouse plant being established on a tract of thirteen acres and being of the best modern type. He has facilities for the propagating of flowers and shrubbery of all kinds, and has developed a large and substantial business. His residence is at the plant, and the house is modern in architecture and appointments. Mr. Binnig takes loyal interest in all that concerns the communal welfare and the general prosperity of his native county, is independent in politics and is affiliated with Anthony Lodge No. 455, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, at Springfield.
On the 17th of April, 1917, was solemnized the marriage of Mr. Binnig and Miss Mabel Corry, who likewise was born and reared in Clark County and who is a daughter of Riley and May (Garlough) Corry. Mr. and Mrs. Binnig are specially zealous members of St. John’s Evangelical Church in Springfield, and in the Sunday School of the same he is teacher of the Young Men’s Bible Class. Mr. and Mrs. Binnig have two children: Roger, born November 11, 1919, and Walter, born January 25, 1922.
Source: A Standard History of Springfield and Clark County, Ohio by Benjamin F. Prince, 1922, page 89
L. BIRELY, retired farmer; P. O. Catawba. He is a son of Philip and grandson of Lewis, who was a native of Germany; came to America and located in Lancaster Co., Penn., in the year 1730; he served in the Revolutionary war. Philip was born Feb. 24, 1780, in Franklin Co., Penn.; came to Ohio and landed in Springfield Oct. 28, 1839. In February, 1840, he moved upon the farm owned now by the subject of this sketch, and lived there until his death, which occurred Dec. 17, 1844. Lewis was born Oct. 2, 1803, in Shippensburg, Cumberland Co., Penn.; was raised and educated in the town; when 15 years old, he learned the trade of a shoemaker, and worked at it till his parents came to Ohio; he came with them and began farming, and has been engaged in that way since with exception of the last ten years; he lives retired from hard labor. He was married, May 19, 1829, to Miss Sarah Shank, of Maryland. They had eleven children, of whom nine are living—Philip, Rebecca, Lewis R., Charlotte C., Elizabeth, Margaret, Sarah, Eliza and Henry C.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 972
SPALDING WESLEY BISHOP, a retired citizen of Springfield, living at 622 Linden Avenue, was in service nearly a third of a century in the city police department, and is honored and respected as one of the oldest minions of law and order in the city.
Mr. Bishop was born in Springfield Township, in November, 1849, and represents one of the earliest families established in Clark County. He is a son of John and Elizabeth (Elwell) Bishop, and he and his father were born in the same house. Elizabeth Elwell was born in Greene County, Ohio, daughter of Israel Elwell, a native of that county. John Bishop was a son of Edward and Tabitha (Winchester) Bishop, the latter a native of Clark County. Edward Bishop was born in New Jersey, son of Moses Bishop, who died in that state. The widow of Moses Bishop married a Mr. Tremble. This Mr. Tremble was a western pioneer, coming by raft on the Ohio River in 1808, along with Benham and Hunter. They were three months on the way, largely due to the fact that they stopped off at different points to survey the country for a prospective location. In that year Tremble entered a tract of land in Clark County. In 1813, after accompanying Captain Benham with troops to Fort Recovery during the War of 1812, he returned and took possession of this land. In 1814 it became the property of Edward Bishop, and remained in the Bishop family until 1912, for practically a century. John Bishop and Elizabeth Elwell were married in 1848, and then settled on the old homestead, remaining there until 1875, when they moved to Hardin County, Ohio, where John Bishop died. His widow passed away in Springfield in 1914. Of their children Spalding Wesley is the oldest; James is deceased; Melissa lives at Yellow Springs, widow of George Pearson; Anna is the widow of Elwood Cusic, and lives in Chicago; Edward is at Seattle, Washington; Katie is the widow of Jefferson Mahoney, of Chicago.
Spalding Wesley Bishop remained at the old home, acquiring a district school education, and in September, 1873, married Mary Burns. She was born at Boston, Massachusetts, daughter of Thomas and Catherine (Tifney) Burns, natives of the same state. After his marriage Mr. Bishop rented a farm in Springfield Township two years and then moved to Harmony, Ohio, and farmed and operated a ditching machine for seven years. On leaving the county he came to Springfield, and for three years was employed in a wholesale fruit house. At the conclusion of that employment he went on the police force, under Mayor O. S. Kelly, and his thirty-two years’ service with the police department ended in 1919, in which year he was retired. Mr. Bishop was reared a Methodist, is a democrat in politics, and is affiliated with Lodge No. 146, Independent Order of Odd Fellows.
He and his wife had six children: John, Harry and Florence, all of whom died in early childhood; Hanford, of Detroit, Michigan, who married Gertrude Smith and has two children; Vivian and Constance; Fannie, who died when twenty-three years of age; and Clarence, who lives with his father and married Beula Dennis.
Source: A Standard History of Springfield and Clark County, Ohio by Benjamin F. Prince, 1922, page 406
WILLIAM HENRY BITNER. In business activities that in the highest degree constitute a public service, and in a personal career that represents a singular combination of adversity and persistent will to overcome misfortune, the life story of William Henry Bitner is one of the most interesting that can be told of any citizen of Clark County. Mr. Bitner is general manager of the Springfield Dairy Products Company. He helped organize this corporation, and its growth and success has been due to his efforts more than to those of any other individual.
Mr. Bitner was born August 18, 1855, in Adams County, Pennsylvania, representing the third generation of the Bitner family in this country. His grandfather, Henry Bitner, came from Germany and settled in Franklin County, Pennsylvania. The old Bitner family Bible brought from Germany was printed 150 years ago and is still carefully preserved in the home of William H. Bitner. The father of the Springfield business man was Henry Bitner, who was born in Franklin County, Pennsylvania, and for a number of years operated a grist mill, later a hotel at Mummasburg, Pennsylvania, and from that town he moved to Biglerville, Adams County, where he was in the butcher business until 1862. In that year he enlisted in the Union Army and served about twelve months, until severely wounded. After his army service he was in the nursery business at Biglerville, then rented his land and became a merchant. He lived in Adams County until his death. Henry Bitner married Nancy Glass, a native of Franklin County. The old Glass homestead owned by her grandparents is still in the family. She also died in Adams County. The children of Henry Bitner and Nancy Glass were Jennie, Elizabeth, William H., George, Enna and Alice.
William H. Bitner was about eight years old when the great battle of Gettysburg was fought. He shared in the excitement and turmoil incident to the invasion of Southern Pennsylvania by Lee’s army. The family at that time lived in a small town named Heidelberg. This was ten miles from Gettysburg, scene of the three days’ battle in July, 1863. However, some of the events of that campaign came under the eyes of the boy and made impressions that can never be effaced from his memory. He relates that on the day before the battle the Confederate troops came to the quiet little town of Heidelberg and camped there, tearing down the residents’ fences to feed their fires, and a large detachment settled on a vacant lot immediately next to the Bitner home. At first they demanded all the food in the house, and then gave the family three minutes to vacate the premises. His father had fortunately driven his horses to Lancaster, and thus saved them. He was preparing to leave the home to the invaders when the order to vacate was suddenly countermanded and they were not further disturbed. The great battle of Gettysburg came to an end on Friday, although smoke of gun powder still hung over the field on Sunday, when William H. Bitner, accompanied by two others, went to view the scene. It was a terrible sight, horses and men lying so close together that the horrified visitors could scarcely put foot on the ground. The great Lutheran College had been thrown open as a hospital, and every poor mangled body in which there still remained a spark of life had been gathered up and crowded in this building in the hope of easing their sufferings. This was no sight proper for a child of eight years, and probably William Bitner was one of the few ever an eye-witness of such an appalling scene on American soil. He walked ten miles to the scene of the battle and then tramped over the grounds, returning to his home after covering a distance of twenty-five miles, and all that time had not a morsel to eat.
Mr. Bitner since he was nine years of age has been self-supporting, starting out at that time to work on farms in the neighborhood at monthly wages. It is literally true that from that age he has been a producer and doer of things. At the age of fourteen his arm was badly torn by a circular saw, and until he was seventeen he worked on a farm and then for two years was employed in an iron ore mine at Pinegrove, Cumberland County, Pennsylvania. Not long afterward a cave-in occurred in the mine, and he was taken out for dead. After this experience he resumed farm work, and in August, 1875, a young man of twenty years, he came to Clark County, Ohio. During the next several years he continued as a farm laborer, and then came the third accident, when he was run over by a heavily laden wagon. Still later, while operating his threshing machine and saw mill, he fell from a log and broke his leg. These injuries interfered with but did not balk his steadfast ambition to succeed, and he went back with renewed energies after each misfortune.
Mr. Bitner began farming on his own account in 1883, when he rented the Creighton farm south of Springfield. It was on that farm that he made his start in the dairy business in 1884. In April, 1885, he moved to the Snyder farm north of Springfield, and he lived there for fourteen years. In October, 1898, he bought the farm of Cornelius Miller, his father-in-law, and that has been his home for the past twenty-two years, though in the meantime by purchase the area of the farm has been increased to two hundred and twenty acres. The improvements on this farm constitute one of the notable country places of Clark County. Besides all the building equipments devoted to the use of stock and the dairying industry there are six dwelling houses.
Mr. Bitner has been actively identified with the dairy industry in Clark County for nearly forty years. He was one of the promoters of and bought and paid for the first stock, in 1902, in the Springfield Pure Milk Company. From its organization and incorporation in 1903 he was general manager and a director. In 1919 this company was consolidated with the Home Dairy and Ice Cream Company, and the business was then incorporated as the Springfield Dairy Products Company, with Mr. Bitner retained as general manager. He was one of the first practical dairymen in the county to become an enthusiastic advocate of the highest standards of purity, and he has done much to extend the use of this wholesome food product. He was the pioneer in pasturizing the milk supply of Clark County. The corporation of which he is the active head now owns and operates seven plants in Clark County, and it is a business as closely identified with the vital welfare of the people as any other industry.
Mr. Bitner is also a director in the Lagonda National Bank, the Morris Plan Bank and the Springfield Coal and Ice Company. He is a member of the Rockway Lutheran Church, and for the past twenty-five years has been superintendent of its Sunday school. In many other ways he has co-operated with and has contributed to the success of movements for the promotion of general welfare.
December 28, 1880, Mr. Bitner married Elmira A. Miller, daughter of Cornelius and Henrietta (Kieffer) Miller, old residents of Clark County. Mr. and Mrs. Bitner have two daughters, Etta B. and Grace M., both graduates of Wittenberg College. Etta is the wife of Dr. J. F. Browne, a well-known Springfield dentist, and they have a daughter and son, Jean and William Bitner. Grace is the wife of Harry Clink, of Clark County, and they also have two children, Robert and Myra.
Source: A Standard History of Springfield and Clark County, Ohio by Benjamin F. Prince, 1922, page 410
A. B. BLACK, physician, New Carlisle. Samuel Black was the son of John Black, and was born near Londonderry, Ireland, about A. D. 1734. He was of Scotch parentage; they having emigrated from Scotland to Ireland. John Black emigrated to America about A. D. 1744, and settled upon the Brandywine River, in New Jersey, where they remained a short time, when they moved to Albemarle Co., Va., where Samuel was united in marriage with Jane Porter. By this union they had nine children—four sons and five daughters—all lived to raise large families. John, who married Jane Alexander; William, who married Jane McBeth; James; Samuel, who married Jane Porter; Jane, who married Mathew Alexander; Martha, who married ____ McCormick; Nancy, who married ____ Price; Mary, who married ____ Black. Samuel and Jane (Porter) Black died in AIbemarle Co., Va. March 28, 1793, William Black was united in marriage with Jane McBeth, daughter of Andrew and Sarah (Clinton) McBeth, of Albemarle Co., Va. After their marriage they settled in Montgomery Co., Va., where he laid out the town of Blacksburg. While there, they had six children born unto them; five raised large families, three sons and two daughters—Samuel, born Sept. 13, 1794, married Malinda Mitchell Nov. 20, 1817; Sallie, born May 20, 1796, married William Reyburn June 13, 1816; Agnes, born April 18, 1798, married Giles W. Thomas March 18, 1816; William Porter, born April 26, 1800, married Susanna Verdier Nov. 16, 1820; Andrew Clinton, born July 21, 1802; John, born July 29, 1804, died April 14, 1806. In May, 1814, he moved with his family, to this township, where they arrived June 14, 1814. He purchased a part of Sections 13 and 19, upon which they settled, where they spent their last days with their son, Andrew C. Jane (McBeth) Black died Jan. 23, 1843, aged 77 years; William Black died Dec. 22, 1851, aged 84 years, 10 months and 8 days. October 20, 1825, Andrew C. was united in marriage with Provy Baker Standiford, daughter of Elijah and Rebecca (Rouse) Standiford. She was born in Mason Co., Ky., Jan. 5, 1806, and emigrated to Champaign Co., Ohio, with her parents January, 1807, where she continued to live until her marriage, at which time they settled upon a part of Sections 13 and 19, where she still lives. Her husband, A. C., died Feb. 25, 1875, aged 72 years 7 months and 4 days. They were the parents of thirteen children, seven now living, five sons and two daughters, viz., Rebecca Ann, born March 10, 1828; married to William Funstone March 18, 1852; Elijah Clinton, born Dec. 1, 1831, married Caroline C. Donnelson June 9, 1859; Charles Standiford, born Nov. 21, 1833, married Sallie L. Gregory May 1, 1863; John Fletcher, born March 22, 1839, married Mary M. Monk April 22, 1860; she died Feb. 15, 1868; Caroline, born Dec. 18, 1844, married William H. James Jan. 17, 1871; Andrew Benjamin, born June 10, 1847, married Maggie B. (Pence) Beard Aug. 12, 1880. William Sanford, born Jan. 11, 1851, married Margaret C. Mitchell, Jan. 20, 1871.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 1014
ANDREW C. BLACK, merchant and capitalist, Springfield; was born in North Ireland in 1828; came to Springfield in 1847 and engaged as clerk with his brother, Robert T., who was then operating a general merchandise store. In 1853, he bought out his brother, and has continued in business ever since; the general store has become a dry goods and carpet store, and the firm was Black Bros. & Co., composed of A. C., W. M. and J. K. Black, W. M. being a younger brother, and J. K. being a cousin; they are located in Black’s Opera House Block, northwest corner of Main and Market streets. Mr. Black came to Springfield without means, and, by industry, economy and judicious management, he soon succeeded in becoming the head of one of the best mercantile establishments in Springfield, and has kept pace with the growth of the city, and is now one of its most substantial citizens. Black’s Opera House Block, built by him in 1868, and now being somewhat remodeled, will long remain a fitting testimonial of his liberal enterprise. He was one of the company who established Fern Cliff Cemetery; has been a Director of the Springfield Savings Bank since its organization, and is now Vice President. Mr. Black is a member of the First Presbyterian Church, and a supporter of all charitable and benevolent enterprises. He married, in 1860, Miss Octavia C., daughter of Dr. John Briggs, of Greenville, Darke Co.; from this union have been born four children, the younger two of whom are living—Annie and Warder S.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 792
JOHN BLACK, farmer; is the son of John and Elizabeth (Ross) Black, who were both natives of Virginia, and came to Ohio and settled upon the farm where the subject of this sketch now resides, about 1808, where he spent the balance of his days. They were the parents of eight children—one son and seven daughters, of whom five are now living. The first death in the family occurred September, 1873, viz., Elizabeth, born Dec. 29, 1820. John, the subject of this sketch, always remained on the home farm. He celebrated his marriage with Mary A. Wise April 18, 1871. Four children were born to bless this union, viz., Martha J., born Feb. 3, 1876; Edna Amelia, born Sept. 18, 1872; John S., born April 18, 1878; infant, born Oct. 12, 1880. Mr. Black is the proprietor of 200 acres of land, with good outbuildings. Mr. Black possesses good business qualifications, and is looked upon by all who deal with him as an upright and honest man. Mrs. Black is a member of the Presbyterian Church at Osborn, and is looked upon as a good Christian woman. John Black died Aug. 12, 1835, aged 47 years; Elizabeth Black died May 5, 1859, aged 73 years.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 1013
JOHN A. BLACK, feed and saw mill. The subject of our present writing, is the youngest of a family of ten children of James (born Aug. 17, 1789, died May 9, 1853), and Catharine Black (born Nov. 20, 1790, and died Aug. 29, 1863), who came from Virginia and located in this township in 1811, living with his brother two years, and then purchased the farm where our subject now resides, on which they remained until his death, May 9, 1853. Mrs. Black survived him until Aug. 29, 1863. They were the parents of ten children, viz.: Mary, born Nov. 22, 1812; Matthew, Feb. 12, 1815; Susannah, Sept. 14, 1816; Catharine (deceased), born March 31, 1819; Dorcas (deceased), born Feb. 4, 1822; Joseph, Dec. 21, 1823; Samuel, March 19, 1826; James, June 30, 1828; Julia A., Oct. 6, 1831; John A., Sept. 7, 1834. John obtained the rudiments of his education in the district schools of the county, and remained with his parents during their life, and at their death he became owner of the home farm, on which he has resided until the present. On the 27th day of October, 1859; Miss Mary J. Hawout, daughter of Joseph and Lydia Hawout, united her destinies with our subject. She was born in Champaign Co., Ohio, March 4, 1839. Their children were, viz.: Lewis O., born Oct. 7, 1861; Herma O., April 20, 1873, and died March 20, 1875; Horace H., born May 30, 1878. Mr. and Mrs. Black are members of the Presbyterian Church, and have the confidence and respect of all who know them as being good and efficient in the cause of Christianity. Mr. Black has by close attention to business and fair dealing with his fellow-men, accumulated a nice property and built a very desirable residence. Although Mr. Black has but a common-school education, he ranks high among the businessmen of his township. For ten years in succession, Mr. Black has been honored by the citizens of his township with the office of Township Trustee, and the office of Justice of the Peace for the period of six years, the duties of which were discharged by him to the entire satisfaction of all concerned.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 1014
REBECCA BLACK, New Carlisle; is the wife of Andrew Black and the daughter of Louis and Mary Carmin. Her parents were from Maryland and Virginia, respectively. Her grandparents, Benjamin and Elizabeth Carmin, the former a native of Blackford Co., Md., emigrated to Ohio about the year 1812, settling in Pike Township, this county. Louis was born April 13, 1800, and his wife Mary Oct. 2, 1807. They were married in the year 1825, and became the parents of fourteen children, eleven of whom are still living. Louis died in 1874. Mary is still living. The names of the children are as follows: Elizabeth, John, Benjamin, James, Hannah, Mary A., Zilpah, William, Rebecca, David, Louis, Jane, Emily and Abraham, all living but three. Our subject was born in this county Aug. 13, 1841, and was united in marriage with Andrew Black, the son of Andrew and and Susannah (Ross) Black, the first settlers in what is now Pike Township, Nov. 26, 1868, which union was blessed with one child—Andrew K., born March 18, 1881. Andrew Black, the husband of our subject, was born on the farm where he now resides Nov. 30, 1816. His parents were natives of Montgomery Co., Va.; father born March 6, 1783; mother, Dec. 7, 1781; were married Dec. 20, 1804; became the parents of nine children—Samuel A., Mary, James, William, Thomas, Jane, Andrew, Edward and Susannah. Father died Oct. 18, 1854; mother Sept. 25, 1845. Andrew had been previously married to Catharine Black, by whom he had seven children, only two of whom are now living—Cyrus and Janettie, the former born Sept. 18, 1848, and the latter Sept. 12, 1856. The mother of these children died Sept. 8, 1868. Our subject and husband are members of the Presbyterian Church.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 1013
W. S. BLACK, farmer; P. O. North Hampton; is the son of Andrew C. and Provy Black; the father was born in Montgomery County, Va., in 1802, and the mother in Kentucky in 1806; they were married in 1825 and were the parents of thirteen children—seven boys and six girls, of whom seven are now living. The subject of this sketch was the youngest, and lived with his parents until he was 21 years of age, assisting his father in the work of the farm until his marriage with Maggie C. Mitchell. He lived on a part of his father’s farm for four years thereafter, during which time he built him a house on a part of his father’s farm. In this he lived one year, during which time his father died. He then sold his interest in the home farm and purchased the beautiful place adjoining the old homestead, where he now lives. He was the father of two children, a son that died in infancy and a daughter, Leora E., born Jan. 5, 1874, who still lives. They are earnest members of the M. E. Church.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 1015
JOHN A. BLOUNT, manufacturer, Springfield; is a native of Clark County. Dr. Blount, who was an early resident, and for many years a prominent practicing physician, of Springfield, was his grandfather and the first of the family to settle in Clark County. John R. Blount, deceased, formerly a dry goods merchant of Springfield, was his father; he was also a native of this county. The subject of this sketch was born in Springfield in 1849; he became connected with the firm of Babbitt, Steel & Co., woolen manufacturers, in 1871; in 1874, they sold the machinery, etc., connected with the manufacture of woolens, and the firm dissolved partnership. In the fall of the same year, Mr. Blount formed a partnership with Kissell & Co., manufacturers of agricultural implements, who had been located on West Main street, and the new firm, Kissell, Blount & Co., removed into what had been the woolen-mill. In 1877, Mr. Alexander McWilson became a member of the firm, and in 1878 the firm became Blount & McWilson. They manufacture a line of agricultural implements, Excelsior cultivator, horse hay-rake and shovel-plows being the principal ones; they also manufacture a line of hardware specialties. Messrs. Blount and McWilson are young men, and comparatively a new firm, but the success thus far attained proves the ability of the management, and assures their greater success as the facilities and capital of their firm shall become augmented by the increasing trade. Mr. Blount married, in 1873, Miss Sarah L., second daughter of John W. Baldwin; they have two sons.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 792
W. E. BLOYER, physician and teacher, Catawba. Among the physicians of Catawba, who, by a successful practice have established a reputation for skill and ability as a physician, is Dr. Bloyer, who is a native of Chambersburg, Franklin Co., Penn.; born Feb. 13, 1853; was raised until 13 years of age in the town, when his parents moved upon a farm in that county; when 16 years old he began teaching school, and has been engaged in that avocation most of his time since. He came to Ohio in 1871, and located first in Moorefield Township, this county, where he engaged in teaching; he began reading medicine under Dr. H. F. Wildasin, of Plattsburg, this county, in 1874. He married Miss Helen A., daughter of William Pinckney, of Vernon, N. Y. Their marriage occurred Nov. 2, 1876; they have one child—Maude G. Mrs. Bloyer had been teaching school several years previous to their marriage. He attended the Eclectic Medical Institute at Cincinnati, Ohio, and graduated from there in June, 1879, and located in Catawba in September following. He has been dependent upon his own resources in the procuring of his medical education. He is a son of Joseph Bloyer, a native of Germany, who came to America with his parents when quite small and located in Chambersburg, Penn., where he is living at the present time.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 972
JASPER BODKIN, farmer; P. O. Catawba. He is a son of Charles Bodkin, native of Virginia, who came to Ohio with his parents in an early day and located near Cincinnati, where he lived a short time previous to the late rebellion; he moved to this county and located in Pleasant Township, where he lived till his death; he served in the war of 1812, and was at Hull’s surrender. The subject of this sketch was born July 29, 1843, upon the farm where he resides; was raised and educated a farmer. During the late rebellion he enlisted in the 16th O. V. A., and served to the close of the war. After his return home, he engaged in farming and stock-raising, and still continues in the business. He owns the old homestead containing 132 acres.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 972
RAYMOND G. BOEHME, M.D. In the present era of expanding horizons in the science of medicine and surgery, of wonderful discoveries and unthought-of surgical achievements, the profession seems to have almost reached a point when its accomplishments are little short of being miracles. The modern physician and surgeon, taking advantage of every opportunity for advancement and knowledge, must often realize with professional elation his great power over disease and disability and he encouraged in his struggle to conquer the strongholds that have not yet been overcome. Possessing the steady nerve, the patience that never tires, the trained understanding gained through his long period of special study, he must yet possess, in order to be a successful surgeon, a courage that never quails, together with a superb technical manual skill. Of the physicians and surgeons of Springfield who are thus equipped, and who through this equipment are gaining advancement in their calling, one who is making steady progress is Dr. Raymond G. Boehme.
Doctor Boehme was born at Newport, Kentucky, September 30, 1888, and is a son of Herman and Mary (Wittman) Boehme, natives of Newport, Kentucky, who are now residents of Clermont County, Ohio, where Dr. Herman Boehme is engaged in the practice of veterinary medicine and surgery. Raymond G. Boehme attended the graded and high schools in his youth, following which he expressed a predilection for the medical profession and accordingly entered the Ohio Miami College at Cincinnati, Ohio, from which he was graduated with the degree of Doctor of Medicine in 1911. At that time he returned to Newport, Kentucky, where he was engaged in practice for two and one-half years, after which he went to Somerville, Ohio, which was his field of practice and place of residence for one and one-half years. Doctor Boehme then moved to Enon, Clark County, where he followed his profession for two and one-half years, and in 1918 came to Springfield, which has since been his home. Here he has been successful in building up a large and lucrative practice of the most desirable kind, and in forming a number of pleasant connections of a social nature as well as of a professional character. He is recognized as being thoroughly conversant with his profession, to which he devotes himself unreservedly. He is a member of the Clark County Medical Society and the Ohio State Medical Society and is a close and careful student. On September 30, 1921, he moved into a handsome modern brick residence located at No. 709 West Main Street. Doctor Boehme has served as assistant health officer of Springfield one year. In politics he is a republican, and his religious connection is with Central Methodist Episcopal Church, while fraternally he is affiliated with Kissell Lodge, A. F. and A. M., of Springfield, and the local lodge of the Knights of Pythias and the Knights of the Maccabees, in all of which he has formed numerous friendships.
On November 10, 1914, Mr. Boehme was united in marriage with Miss Edna Droste, who was born at Newport, Kentucky, a daughter of Gustav and Elizabeth (Smith) Droste, the former born at Cincinnati, Ohio, and the latter at Newport. Three children have come to this union: Donald Wilfred, born October 10, 1915; Gordon Ray, born March 2, 1917; and Robert Clement, born October 13, 1918.
Source: A Standard History of Springfield and Clark County, Ohio by Benjamin F. Prince, 1922, page 357
PATRICK BOLAN, produce dealer, Springfield; he was born near Ferbane, Kings County, Ireland, March 1,1834; is a son of Michael and Bridget (Eagan) Bolan; he came to America with his father and five other children in the spring of 1851, the mother having died in Ireland in 1847, May 2. After stopping a short time in New York, they came on to Springfield, this county; the father is still living here, being now 83 years old, and enjoys very fair health. Patrick worked the remainder of that year at manual labor (after his arrival at Springfield), saving $5, and, in the spring of 1852, with the $5 he bought a small stock of goods and started through the country on foot, going from house to house, offering his goods for sale. During the summer of that year, he saved $120, and, during the winter of 1852, attended school; in the spring of 1853, purchased a horse and wagon, and a larger stock of merchandise, and continued retailing through the country, but, in 1854, abandoned the retail trade and confined his sales to wholesaling in the small towns throughout the surrounding counties; but, on account of the Know-Nothing movement—he being an Irishman and a member of the Catholic Church—was compelled to sell his team, give up his trade and start anew, as it seemed to be one of the rules of that institution not to patronize a Catholic. Hence he started again on foot, this time through Indiana; but in 1855, the persecution of the Know-Nothings having died out, he again started with horse and wagon, and from that time on, fortune smiled him, and all his labor met with satisfactory results, and he now ranks among the wealthy men of Springfield. He continued traveling with the wagon until 1866, when he went to Wisconsin and engaged in farming, where be remained three years, when he returned to Springfield, and since then has been engaged in the produce trade, also handling scrap-iron, etc. He was married, July 3, 1858, to Ellen Hackett, daughter of Edward and Catherine (Connor) Hackett, natives of Kings County, Ireland; Ellen was also born in that county in 1835; she came to America in 1852 with her sister and two brothers, their parents having died some time previous. Of Patrick and Ellen’s eleven children, there are ten living, viz., John C., Katie A., Michael P., Mary Ann, Edward S., Elizabeth L., James, Charles, William H. and Ellen. Mr. Bolan, politically, is independent; religiously, a member of the Catholic Church; and his success in life is a striking illustration of what determined industry can accomplish when coupled with rigid economical habits.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 795
FRANCIS M. BOOKWALTER, who is now living virtually retired in his beautiful home at Springfield, has been a prominent figure in the industrial, commercial and civic affairs of this city, and as a man of thought and action has regulated his life to effective service, the while substantial success has attended his varied and important activities.
Mr. Bookwalter was born in a pioneer log cabin near Rob Roy, Fountain County, Indiana, on the 29th of April, 1837, and is a son of David Buchwalter, who was born in Berks County, Pennsylvania, in 1804, and who eventually changed the orthography of the family name to the English form, Bookwalter. When David Bookwalter was nine years old the family removed to Ross County, Ohio, where his father, Joseph Buchwalter, took up land and engaged in pioneer farm enterprise. In that county David was reared to adult age, and in 1828 he went to Indiana to establish a home on land which his father had previously purchased at a public sale held at Crawfordsville, that state. After spending a year on this land, David Bookwalter returned to Ross County, Ohio, where was solemnized his marriage with Susan Van Gundy, of Holland Dutch ancestry. In 1830 the young couple established their home on the pioneer farm on Little Shawnee Creek in Fountain County, Indiana, the Shawnee Indians having at that time been still in evidence in that section, which was still on the frontier of advancing civilization. On this old homestead were born the five children, Francis M., John W., William H. H., Melinda Jane and Malissa. The father built a sawmill and an oil mill on Little Shawnee Creek, and in 1837 he erected on his farm a substantial stone house, the first pretentious building in that section of Indiana. In his oil mill David Bookwalter ground flaxseed and the oil product was shipped to points as far south as New Orleans, by boats on the Wabash, Ohio and Mississippi rivers. David Bookwalter died in 1859, and his widow passed away many years later, at a venerable age, she having been a member of the home circle of her son Francis M. at Springfield at the time of her death.
Francis M. Bookwalter was reared under the conditions and influences marking the pioneer period in the history of Indiana, and he aided in the work of the home farm and the mills operated by his father. The discipline which he acquired in the local schools was supplemented by one year of study in the University of Michigan, at Ann Arbor, the death of his father having caused him to return home. For a time he had charge of the old home farm and the saw mill, the flax-raising enterprise having so waned as to stop the operation of the oil mill. The crude machinery of the old-time mills had peculiar fascination for Mr. Bookwalter and tended to spur his natural aptitude for mechanics and his interest in mechanical science. He finally built a grist mill on the old home farm and in operating the same he finally learned of the Leffel water wheel, an improved power device then being manufactured at Springfield. In 1865 his brother John W. came to Springfield to make personal investigation of the wheel and to transact other business. He became interested in the Leffel wheel and also, of major importance, in the daughter of Mr. Leffel. He finally married the daughter and also acquired an interest in the manufacturing business. In 1867 Francis M. Bookwalter joined his brother in Springfield and for about a year thereafter he had charge of the mill which the two acquired on Buck Creek. They sold this property in 1868 and Francis M. then became shipping clerk for the firm of James Leffel & Co., in which he later assumed charge of the water-wheel correspondence. In 1876 John W. Bookwalter became the owner of two-thirds interest in this manufacturing enterprise and in 1879 the sole owner. In 1876 Francis M. Bookwalter was made general manager of the business, in which he acquired an interest in 1890 and of which he continued the general manager until 1900, when he retired, though still retaining his financial interest. For forty-eight years and eight months John W. and Francis M. Bookwalter were associated with the important business conducted under the original title of James LefFel & Co., and the death of John W. occurred in 1915.
Francis M. Bookwalter, who has passed the eighty-fifth milestone on the journey of life, has gained high reputation as an inventor, and he obtained patents on several improvements which he made on the Leffel water wheel. He has traveled extensively, both in this country and abroad, is a man of fine intellectual ken, and he had made somewhat of a hobby of precision in mechanics. Years ago, in the memory of old residents, he developed and installed what was the first semblance of a town clock in Springfield, and the same was looked upon to regulate all things. He has been for many years a close student of mechanics and astronomy and his interest in wireless telegraphy has been shown in his installing a complete wireless outfit in his home. Mr. Bookwalter issued in 1917 a most interesting and valuable booklet entitled “The Pocket Performance of Fine Watches Exhibited by Critical and Systematic Time Service Records,” a work now in its fifth edition. From the text of this booklet the initial paragraph is reproduced herewith:
“The writer has for many years been interested in the subject of correct time service, as a diversion from the arduous exactions of an active business career. Thirty-nine years ago he furnished to the City of Springfield, Ohio, a system of time signals similar in several respects to the present practice of the telegraph company. His private astronomical observatory contained a high-class fixed transit instrument, and a combined clock of his own arrangement, with two dials and one pendulum, which kept both mean sidereal and mean solar, or local, time. The sidereal clock was corrected at frequent intervals by observing at night the transit of nautical almanac fixed stars, which are tabulated by the Washington and Greenwich observatories for navigators. The solar time dial could be corrected by the transit of the sun across the meridian, but it was more convenient and pleasant to utilize the stars by night for the necessary corrections. The combined clock was arranged electrically and mechanically to strike automatically the bell of the central station of the fire department, located a half-mile distant. These signals were adopted by factories and others as their local standard time.”
From 1872 to 1900 Mr. Bookwalter produced all the descriptive and promotive literature of James Leffel & Company and the splendid success of the corporation is thus to be attributed in large measure to his able efforts. From 1890 to 1900 he was vice president, treasurer and general manager of the corporation. He has been liberal and progressive as a citizen, is a staunch republican, and in the Masonic fraternity has received the thirty-second degree of the Scottish Rite, besides being affiliated with the Mystic Shrine.
In 1868 Mr. Bookwalter married Miss Mary Elizabeth Croft, and they became the parents of three children, the second of whom, Lulu J., died at the age of twenty-two months; May Louise was the wife of George R. Prout, who died in March, 1922, and of whom individual mention is made on other pages; and John A. died in 1917 at the age of forty-three years.
Source: A Standard History of Springfield and Clark County, Ohio by Benjamin F. Prince, 1922, page 140
HENRY BOOSINGER, apiarist and sorghum manufacturer, Bowlusville; born in Lancaster Co., Penn., Oct. 9, 1831. Is a son of Henry and Catharine Boosinger, whose history appears in full in sketch of Martin L. Boosinger, in this work. Our subject was raised to farm labor, and always followed that occupation till about seven years ago, when he entered extensively into bee culture, and also into the gardening business; these he has followed with good success. In the fall of 1879, he bought a cane mill and built a furnace, and arranged full machinery for the manufacture of sorghum molasses, which business he is now carrying on extensively; and in this business, as well as an apiarist, he seems to be successful, evidently understanding the principles of the business which is always so necessary to the sure road to success. He was married, Oct. 16, 1854, to Miss Lucy Ann, daughter of John and Rebecca (Henry) Dear, he a native of Virginia, and she of Ohio. They were parents of nine children; four now survive—Eliza Jane, Lucy Ann, Mary Harriet and John Simeon. Mr. Boosinger and wife have had an issue of thirteen children; ten now survive—John Henry, Samuel Augustus, Charles Marion, William Ellsworth, Addie Louisa, Joseph Ezra, Thomas Lee, Mary Elizabeth, Emma Dora and Walter Forest. Mr. Boosinger has never held office except that of School Director, which office he now holds. His business demands all his attention, and he is one of those energetic men who attends strictly to his business, and as such is prosperous, and has the confidence of his community.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 999
MARTIN L. BOOSINGER, farmer; P. O. Bowlusville; was born in Lancaster Co., Penn., Aug. 8, 1829; is a son of Henry and Catharine (Spickler) Boosinger, he a native of the Canton of Basil, Switzerland, and emigrating to America in 1817. She was a native of Pennsylvania. They were married in Pennsylvania, and lived there until 1837, when they removed to Ohio, locating in Clark Co., where he resided until 1872; thence removed to Logan Co., Ill., where he still resides, now about 78 years of age. Of an issue of five children four now survive—Martin L., Henry, John S. and Augustus. Mr. Boosinger has always been an athletic, hard-working man, and now, at his advanced age, is quite robust and healthy. Is naturally quite gifted as an artist, as a portrait-painter and a sculptor; although never having served any apprenticeship, or taken any lessons in the art, yet he would, doubtless, have excelled in fine arts had his financial circumstances permitted him to have made it a study. He has always been a man of great integrity of character, whose word could always be relied upon, and an active Christian worker, a member of the M. E. Church, and one who is respected and stands in high esteem by all who know him best. His wife died in 1849. He married for his second wife Nancy Downing, with whom he is now living in Illinois. Our subject lived with his father until about 20 years of age, or till the death of his mother. Was married in October, 1854, to Miss Eliza Jane, daughter of John and Rebecca (Henry) Dear, he a native of Virginia and she of Ohio; issue nine children, six now living—Mary C., John Franklin, Ella R., Annie E., Arthur H., and Laura May. Mr. Boosinger has always lived in this county, with the exception of three years spent in Illinois. Has been located upon his present farm about fifteen years. Always made farming his business. Has never held or sought office, but is a stanch Democrat in principle, but believes in the best men being elected to office, and that we should always adhere to the wishes of the people as expressed by their popular vote.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 999
TIMOTHY L. BOSART, deceased. This gentleman was one of the staid and substantial pioneers of Clark County, and was born in Pendleton Co., Va., Sept. 4, 1803. His parents, Henry and Elizabeth (Hunter) Bosart, came to Clark County in 1811, settling on Sec. 21, Moorefield Township, where his mother died in 1817, and his father in 1841. Mr. Bosart grew to manhood in this county, and, Dec. 25, 1832, he was married to Miss Matilda Moss, daughter of Jacob and Sarah Moss, natives of the “Old Dominion,” and pioneers of Clark Co., Ohio, Mrs. Moss being yet living, and in her 90th year. To Timothy L. and Matilda Bosart were born seven children, five sons and two daughters, two of the sons dying in childhood. Mrs. Bosart died Nov. 18, 1854, leaving behind those whom she had loved and cared for to mourn her loss. Mr. Bosart was always looked up to as one of the leading men of his township, and all who knew him trusted and respected him for his true manliness and rigid honesty in all things. In religious belief, a Universalist; in politics, a Whig, which, on the breaking-out of that foul blot on American liberty called “Know-Nothingism,” he forsook for the Democratic party. He held the positions of Township Clerk, Treasurer and Trustee, and was Justice of the Peace for a number of terms, also acting as School Director some forty consecutive years. He died June 9, 1876, in his 73d year, leaving a name and character that his descendants can point to with just pride.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 982
SAMUEL H. BOWLUS, grain dealer and proprietor of Bowlusville. Born in Middletown Valley, Frederick Co., Md., July 26, 1819; is a son of George and Ann Catharine (Lyles) Bowlus, natives of Frederick Co., Md., and who spent their lives in their native State, with the exception of about six months spent at Zanesville, Ohio, and at another time six months spent in Missouri, returning to their native State, where they resided till their death. She died Feb. 17, 1827; he died Oct. 27, 1855, aged 65 years. They were parents of four children, Capt. Samuel H. the only one now surviving. Mr. Bowlus was married the second time to Miss Ann Benson, of Montgomery Co., Md., by whom he had four children, one only now living—George Andrew, now a resident of Iola, Kan., acting as real estate and railroad agent for the sale of lands, etc., holding a very prominent position, and through his extensive business has acquired a large amount of wealth. Mr. George Bowlus was in the farming and milling business during most of his life; was a very prominent and active man having the esteem and confidence of his community and the people of his county, holding many positions of public trust. Was Judge of the Orphan’s Court for six years, and represented his county in the Legislature a greater portion of the time from 1828 to 1844. His eldest son by his first wife, John W., now deceased, became a well known physician, in Millerville, Marion Co., Ind., where he had practiced his profession for thirty years at the time of his death. The eldest son by his second wife, Thomas H., also deceased, took the profession of the law, and became one of the most prominent lawyers of Indianapolis, and an intimate friend of Gov. Hendricks. His practice, which was extensive, was continued till his death, a period of twenty years. Our subject was raised and grew to maturity in his native State; was only eight years of age at the death of his mother, but under the watchful care of his kind and intelligent father, grew to manhood, receiving a good common-school education, with a good knowledge of surveying. Was married Feb. 13, 1840, to Miss Lucinda, daughter of Christopher and Ann Catharine (Stembel) Michael, natives of Frederick Co., Md. By this union they had twelve children; ten now survive—George C., Samuel W., Charles F., Mary Ann Catharine, Maria Anneta (now Mrs. Schindler, of Toledo, Ohio), Millard McCanlay, Warren L., John L., Henry C. and Clement L. In March, 1853, Capt. Bowlus and family emigrated to Ohio and located about three-quarters of a mile from his present place of residence. In 1856, he purchased the tract of land upon which the village of Bowlusville now stands. The location being about equally distant from Springfield and Urbana, the two railroads C., S. & C. and N. Y., P. & O., pass through the village. In 1853, a regular station was established here for the convenience of the neighborhood. Capt. Bowlus, after the purchase of this land, erected a good dwelling with a storeroom attached, in which has since been kept a general stock of merchandise to suit the wants of the people; has erected a large warehouse for the storing of grain, and in which he has carried on quite an extensive trade; also erected a saw-mill, and saws and deals quite extensively in lumber. A post office was established here about 1855, but after a few years was abandoned; but in about 1862 was again re-established, taking the name of Bowlusville from its proprietor, Capt. Bowlus, under which grant it has since continued. Since and during the establishing of these several branches of industry, Capt. Bowlus has erected quite a number of houses upon lots of the village, which were needed for residences for the families of men employed in the various business interests of the village. Capt. Bowlus has dealt largely in real estate; is the active spirit of this community, and has done much for the benefit of this neighborhood, and has the general confidence and esteem of its citizens. In this brief sketch we have portrayed a family whose lives and characters in their business and professions stand very prominent, and of whose record their descendants may justly feel proud.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 982
JESSE BOYD, farmer; P. O. Springfield; was born in Center Co., Penn., May 26, 1808; in the year 1814, his parents moved to Chillicothe, Ross Co., Ohio, arrived at the town on the evening of Oct. 30; his parents remained in the county until 1821, when they moved to Seneca Co., Ohio, where his father, Thomas Boyd, purchased a large body of land (1,100 acres); in the year 1835, Jesse left his father’s home for the purpose of starting in life for himself, and came to Clark Co., and settled in Harmony Township. In the same year, he was united in marriage to Miss Susan Donnel, on the 5th day of March, 1835, the marriage ceremony being performed by the Rev. Saul Hinkel; this union having been blessed by the birth of ten children, three boys and seven girls, seven of whom are now living, viz., Elizabeth, born June 9, 1838; Thomas, Aug. 7, 1840; James D., Nov. 25, 1842; Margaret, Feb. 27, 1845; Wilhelmina, May 11, 1847; Emma, Feb. 3, 1850, and Frank H., Dec. 8, 1859. When treason dared to insult the flag of our country, and threatened to destroy this Union of States, two of his sons went in defense of their country, viz., Thomas Boyd enlisted in August, 1861 in Co. I, 44th O.V.I.; was discharged in July, 1865, at the close of the war, as a Sergeant; James D. Boyd enlisted in Co. I, 110th O.V.I., Aug. 10, 1862, and was discharged June 20, 1865, when there was no more “Southern Confederacy;” he served in the 3d Division, 6th Corps of the Army of the Potomac. Mr. Boyd resides on a beautiful farm of 311 acres of land, in the north corner of the township, surrounded with a very interesting family and the comforts of life; he, like many other successful farmers, has never sought after political honors, and has never served “the people” in any other office than a member of the School Board of Harmony Township, in that position, he has served for thirty-two years. Mr. Boyd has been a member of the First Presbyterian Church of Springfield for the past forty-seven years; he is a much respected and an honored citizen.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 955
ALMON BRADFORD, dealer in groceries and provisions; P. O. South Charleston; was born in Chili, Monroe Co., N. Y., Dec. 13, 1830. His great grandfather was a direct descendant of William Bradford, who came to America in the Mayflower and who was the first Governor of the Plymouth colony in 1620. His father was born in Massachusetts in 1796, but when quite small removed to Vermont, where they remained till he was about 16 years of age. They then moved to near Rochester, N. Y., where till he was about 16 years of age. They then moved to near Rochester, N. Y., where in 1821 he married Mary Sybil Brace. She was born in Connecticut in 1802. In 1838, they came to Ohio and settled near Springfield, Clark Co. Their son, Almon, the subject of this sketch, when 17 years of age, went to learn the blacksmith trade, which he followed till July, 1862, residing mostly at Lisbon, in the last-named county. On quitting his trade at the time just mentioned, he enlisted in Co. K, 45th O. V. I., and went forth to aid in suppressing the rebellion. He was First Sergeant at the organization; afterward Second and First Lieutenant of the same regiment, predicated in fifty-eight battles, including the great John Morgan Raid. He returned home in the fall of 1864, but having engaged at various kinds of business. On the 15th of July, 1853, he joined the Odd Fellows in Springfield, Ohio; and in 1863, while at home on recruiting service, was made a Master Mason of Fielding Lodge, No. 192, South Charleston. He was elected Justice of the Peace in Harmony Township, Clark County in 1868, and served till 1879, when he resigned, having moved to Madison Twp., where, in South Charleston, he engaged in teh grocery and provision trade. His marriage was celebrated Feb. 23, 1854, with Margaret Ann McBeth. Three sons were the issue of this union, viz: Albert, Rufus Orren and Orlando Rolla.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 1060
ASHLEY BRADFORD, Recorder, Springfield; is a native of New York State; was born in 1824; his parents, Clifford and Sibyl Bradford, removed to Clark County in 1838, coming by lake and canal to Columbus, and then by wagon to their new home in Springfield Township, where they resided the remainder of their lives. The subject of this sketch was brought up on the farm, and, when a young man, taught school during the winter for a number of years; he continued farming until Jan. 1, 1864, when he removed to Springfield to take charge of the Recorder’s office, to which he had been elected the previous October, and to which he has been re-elected each succeeding contest, which is sufficient proof of the able and satisfactory discharge of his duties. Mr. Bradford married, in 1848, Julia A., daughter of George and Mary Knaub, of Pennsylvania. His death occurred here in 1868. Mrs. Knaub still resides in Springfield, being now in the 81st year of her age. From this union are ten children—seven sons and three daughters all of whom are living; the oldest son, Oliver P., is agent of the American Express Company at Columbus; the second, Irving is Deputy in his father’s office; the oldest daughter is the wife of Rev. H. K. Fenner, of Louisville; the second daughter is the wife of Rev. J. C. Kauffman, of Orrville, Ohio, both of whom are prominent ministers in the Lutheran Church. Mr. Bradford is a quiet, unostentatious citizen, which is illustrated by the fact that, in the fall of 1863, when his friends went to apprise him of his nomination, they found him busy sowing wheat, and the nomination was a clear surprise, affording one of those rare instances in the days in which the office seeks the man.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 795
HORATIO STRONG BRADLEY. One of the longest records of personal service in the industrial affairs of Springfield might properly be claimed by Horatio Strong Bradley, who came to the city nearly fifty years ago and has long enjoyed a place of power and prestige among local manufacturers and bankers. Mr. Bradley is president of the Lagonda Manufacturing Company, vice president of the Springfield Advance Machine Company, and vice president of the Springfield National Bank. He was born at Ashland, Ohio, February 4, 1853, son of Rev. Horatio S. and Sarah (Patterson) Bradley. His parents are now deceased. His father for a long period years was an active minister of the Methodist Episcopal Church and held charges at many points in the Ohio Conference.
H. S. Bradley lived with his parents in the different towns and cities where his father was a pastor. The longest period of residence during his boyhood was at Delaware, Ohio, where he acquired most of his public school education, and in the same city he entered the Ohio Wesleyan University, where he was graduated with the A. B. degree in 1872. The following year Mr. Bradley went to work in a bank at Hartford City, Indiana, but after a short time came to Springfield, in 1873, and here he worked for a time as a bookkeeper in a drug house. His first important position among the manufacturing interests of the city was as cashier for the St. John Sewing Machine Company. He was associated with that old-time industry for a number of years. Later, with Gustavus Foos, he became one of the organizers of the Foos Manufacturing Company, a business now continued as the Bauer Brothers Manufacturing Company. Mr. Bradley organized the Lagonda Manufacturing Company in 1903. This is a local industry for the manufacture of a line of steam specialties, and its output is distributed all over the country. Mr. Bradley has been president of the company from the beginning. This and other connections above noted constitute for him a busy program in the commercial life of Springfield.
However, he has accepted responsibilities in other departments of life, and since 1908 has been a member of the Board of Trustees of Ohio Wesleyan University, his alma mater. He is a trustee of the High Street Methodist Episcopal Church and a member of the Y. M. C. A. Socially he belongs to the Chamber of Commerce and the Lagonda and Country Clubs. Mr. Bradley married Miss Nannie Gunn. Her father, Rev. J. W. Gunn, was one of Springfield’s oldest and most highly respected citizens.
Source: A Standard History of Springfield and Clark County, Ohio by Benjamin F. Prince, 1922, page 172
GEORGE BRAIN, SR., deceased, came from England to America in the year 1829; he left Liverpool in August in a sail vessel, and was six weeks on the voyage to Philadelphia; there were no ocean steamers then. He came to Philadelphia expecting to settle in Pennsylvania, but, becoming acquainted with Mr. Jeremiah Warder, who was about settling in Springfield, he took Mr. Warder’s advice and came to Springfield. Mr. Brain’s route was by way of New York and Albany, thence by Erie Canal to Buffalo, and by steamboat from Buffalo to Sandusky, and as it happened, the last steamer before the close of navigation for the season; from Sandusky to Springfield by wagon, over a corduroy road, in some places not very comfortable; the contrast between then and now as to travel is observable. Mr. Brain and his wife, Mary (Whitehead) Brain, brought with them seven children—Mary, now Mrs. Willard; Joseph J. W., deceased; Anna, the late Mrs. Green; Lydia and Martha, now living on High street; Lucy, now the widow of Dr. John Stoddard, who was a surgeon in the Union army, and killed while in that service; George, of whom more hereafter; William G. Brain, the youngest, is the only American born of the family, now lumber-dealer in Springfield. Maria Hipkins came to America with Mr. Brain, and is yet an inmate of the family and is now in her 77th year. Mr. Brain purchased a farm near what was then the village, but now the city, of Springfield, on which be lived till the time of his death, which occurred March 11, 1851, by his being thrown from his horse against a tree, killing him almost instantly. He was, as to his religious connection when in England, an Independent, but, finding none of the order in Springfield, he united with the First Presbyterian Church, and afterward with the First Congregational Church. His wife survived him more than twenty years, and died in 1872, in the 8lst year of her age. The younger George Brain was born in Staffordshire, England, March 2, 1827; he came with his parents to America, as before stated, in 1829, and has always lived on the farm, except a year or two when employed in Dr. John Ludlow’s drug store. He was married, May 22, 1860, to Sarah M. Willard, daughter of Levi and Sarah (Allen) Willard, in Decatur, DeKalb Co., Ga., at which place Sarah M. was born July 6, 1839, and where her father had been in successful business many years as a merchant. His residence is now on North Limestone Street, Springfield; too old and infirm to attend to any active business. Mr. Brain has six children living—Willard, Jessie A., George H., Mary, Bessie and Grace. Alice died in infancy. Mr. Brain was too young when he left England (only 2½ years old) to have any political opinions, and, in his growth to manhood, he became thoroughly Americanized; he is a quiet, unassuming gentleman, doing his duty throughout life in that upright, straightforward manner that has won for him the respect, good will and confidence of a large circle of the best citizens of Clark County.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 795
W. G. BRAIN, Springfield; a native of Springfield; is a son of George Brain, Sr. The subject of this sketch was born in 1830; when a youth, he engaged as clerk in a drug-store here, and subsequently engaged in the drug trade on his own account, and continued the business here ten or twelve years; he has been in the lumber trade here for the past eleven years, and has resided here, with the exception of one or two short intervals, all his life. He has been twice married, his first marriage being with Mary Dyer, of Cincinnati, in 1858; she having died, he married Elizabeth Dyer, a sister of his first wife, in 1876. By his first wife he had four children, two of whom are living; he has one child by his second marriage. His residence is No. 272 West Pleasant street. His oldest daughter living, Miss Belle M., is Superintendent of Drawing in the city schools; Robert D. is a graduate of the high school, and Stanley, the youngest, is a child of 3 years. Mr. Brain’s lumber-yard and office are between the C., S. & C., and L. M. depots; he is handling large quantities of lumber, mostly in car lots.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 796
P. J. BREWER, proprietor Enon Hotel, Enon; is the son of Jacob and Nancy Brewer, and was born Nov. 26, 1817, in Maryland, where he grew to manhood and obtained his education in the common school. About the time of his majority, he went to Berkeley Co., Va., where he learned distilling, which he mostly followed until 1872, remaining in Virginia until 1841, when he came to Greene Co., Ohio, locating near Xenia, and there continued his trade. After abandoning the trade, he engaged on the farm and saw-mill a short time; thence purchased the Enon Hotel, of which he is now proprietor, and makes it a pleasant home for all who see fit to patronize him. He is an active worker in the Democratic Party, by which he was honorably elected Township Trustee in 1880. In November, 1840, he married Kassia Mousby, of Washington Co., Md., and had born to them six children, five daughters and one son. Thirteen months after Kassia’s death, he married Mrs. Eliza Butler (of Greene Co., Ohio), who died in April, 1863. His third wife was Mrs. Harrison K. Garlock, of Dayton, Ohio. Three sons were born to the second marriage.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 1040
ANDREW N. BROOKS, farmer, stock buyer and grain-dealer; P. O. Springfield, Box 1199. There are few more active business men in the county than the subject of this sketch. Mr. Brooks is a native of Clark Co., Ohio, having been born in Harmony Township June 7, 1835; he is a son of L. Brooks, deceased. Andrew’s father died when he was in his 6th year; at the age of 13, he left home and began life for himself; he worked on a farm by the month some time, then he commenced to drive cattle for cattle-dealers; when but 17 years old, he was put in charge of a large drove of cattle and drove them to Lancaster, Penn., over the mountains. He was united in marriage, Feb. 8, 1855, to Miss Mary Ann Foreman, a daughter of Harvey Foreman, of Harmony Township; this union has been blessed by the birth of seven children, five boys and two girls, all of whom are now living, viz., Dora, now the wife of John Stevens; H. L., who is a grain merchant at Catawba Station, in Pleasant Township; Frank A., Twing, Milton, Charles and Fannie. In 1855, Mr. Brooks commenced farming and has continued to farm since in connection with his other business. In 1857, he became a cattle-buyer and has been engaged in it quite extensively since. In 1868, he began the grain trade, and is one of the most extensive grain-dealers in Clark Co.; his shipments amount to 225 cars annually; he buys grain at five stations—Springfield, Oxtobey’s Station, Brooks’ Station, Plattsburg and Sharp’s Station; he is the owner of a very fine farm of 140 acres of land, where he resides—at Brooks’ Station. Mr. Brooks and wife are members of the Baptist Church, at Lisbon; he is a member of the A., F. & A. M., at South Charleston, and is also a Past Grand of Vienna Lodge No. 345, I. O. O. F. (he is the only living charter member of Vienna Lodge). Mr. Brooks is a gentleman of fine social qualities, very pleasant in his manners, social and affable, and very hospitable.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 956
NATHAN T. BROOKS, deceased. Mr. Brooks, whose name heads this sketch, was born in Harmony Township, Clark Co., Ohio, and in which he resided to the date of his death; he was born June 15, 1831, and departed this life April 20, 1875. Elizabeth, widow of N. T. Brooks, was born in Harmony Township, Clark Co., Ohio, March 25, 1836. Mr. N. T. Brooks was married to Miss Elizabeth Rathburn July 19, 1855; the result of this union was five children, two sons and three daughters, all of whom are living; the names and ages of the children are respectively thus—the eldest, Margaret A., 24 years; William T., 22; Alice L., 20, Lemuel C., 16; Carrie L., 13. Margaret A. is married to Joseph Mason; Alice L. is the wife of William Sweet, the rest of the children are as yet unmarried. Mrs. Brooks, widow of N. T. Brooks, resides upon the homestead; the farmhouse, which is quite modern in its construction, is situated upon a picturesque and well-chosen eminence, which commands a magnificent view of the surrounding country.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 956
CHRISTIAN BROSEY, Medway. Gotlieb Brosey, the father of our subject was born in Wurtemberg, Germany, May 9, 1792. In early manhood he served the King of Wurtemberg as body-guard; also served in the Light Horse Cavalry in the army of Napoleon Bonaparte, and was with him in his memorable and disastrous march to Russia, when he, with others, was taken prisoner. He made his escape, however, and journeyed to Wurtemberg, suffering much from cold and hunger. In the year 1817, he emigrated to this country, and settled in Lancaster Co., Penn. His marriage with Susannah Goodyear was celebrated the 24th day of November, 1818; she was born Oct. 8, 1793. Two children were the result of this union, viz., Noah, born July 19, 1820; Martha, born Dec. 16, 1822. Mrs. Brosey departed this life Jan. 23, 1823. Mr. Brosey remained a widower until July 23, 1826, at which time he was married to Christianna Moglin, who was born in Wurtemberg, March 26, 1798. They were the parents of four children, viz., Anna, born June 21, 1827; John, born March 3, 1829; Christian, born Jan. 27, 1831; Barbara, born April 6, 1833. On the 16th day of April, 1835, he was left a widower the second time. He married Elizabeth Keyler, his third wife, May 17, 1836, in Franklin Co., where he had previously moved. They have had six children—Elizabeth, born Dec. 17, 1836, died Oct. 4, 1867; Samuel, born Jan. 13, 1839; Benjamin, born Feb. 20, 1841; Mary, born Feb. 1, 1843; Sarah, born June 7, 1845, died July 4, 1880; Martha, born May 3, 1874. In the year 1841, he moved to Clark Co., Ohio, and settled near Medway, where he purchased several tracts of land. Elizabeth, his wife, died Dec. 13, 1861, and he survived her until Dec. 7, 1866, when he died at the advanced age of 75 years. Christian, the subject of this memoir, was joined in marriage, Nov. 17, 1859, to Anna Monk. They have had two children, viz., Mollie, born Nov. 15, 1861; Harry, born Sept. 13, 1863.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 1026
HARRY MOUK BROSEY. One of the most prominent families in the old community of Medway in Bethel Township is that of Brosey. One of its representatives was Harry Mouk Brosey, who spent all his life on the old farm at Medway.
His grandfather and the founder of the family here was Gottlieb Brosey, who was born in Wuertemberg, Germany, April 9, 1792. He was a soldier in the Napoleonic war, being a body-guard to the King of Wuertemberg. He was with Napoleon’s Army in the Russian campaign, and was made a prisoner and was twice wounded, and while a prisoner was hired out to a farmer. On reaching home after the terrible vicissitude of the Russian campaign he was welcomed as a man from the grave. Soon after the close of the war and as a young man of twenty-five he came to America, reaching Philadelphia with $1.50 in his pocket. He walked twelve miles into Lancaster County, where he lived for twelve years. He married his three wives in Lancaster County. His third wife was Betsy Keiler. For twelve years he lived in Franklin County, Pennsylvania, and in 1841 came to Ohio. The Feigley family came about the same time and both of them settled near Medway. Gottlieb Brosey secured one hundred and thirty acres there. He burned the brick for the erection of two homes for two of his children, and he also supplied brick for store and church buildings at Medway. He spent the last seven years of his life on an adjoining farm, where he died December 7, 1866. He was a staunch Mennonite, and he located in a community where a church of that denomination had already been established. His third wife died in December, 1861. By his first marriage he had one son, Noah, who lived to the age of eighty-one. There were four children by his second marriage: Anna, who became the wife of Jacob Siple and removed to Union City, Indiana, where she died at the age of seventy-eight; John, who as a lad went to Mississippi, served as a Confederate soldier and lived in that state until his death at the age of eighty-six; Christian, mentioned below; and Barbara, who married Adam Shaffer and lived at Medway until her death at the age of seventy-five. The children of Gottlieb Brosey’s first marriage were: Susan, who married Theodore Zeller and died at the age of eighty-two; Elizabeth, who married Isaac Brenizer, and died at Medway; Samuel, who is now eighty-three years of age and a resident of Medway; Benjamin, who served as a Union soldier and died at the age of sixty-six; Mary, who married William H. Owen, of a prominent family of Champaign County; Sarah, who married Seph Smaling; and Martha, of Springfield, widow of David Rayburn.
Christian Brosey spent the greater part of his life on his farm near Medway, where he died at the age of eighty-one. He married Anna Mouk, daughter of Henry Mouk. Henry Monk’s first wife was named Esther, and his second wife was Maria Hershey. Her father, Andrew Hershey, was born September 14, 1770, and was a son of Andrew and a grandson of Andrew. The last named Andrew was born in Switzerland in 1702 and settled in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania, in 1719. His son Andrew was born in 1734 and died in 1806.
The late Harry Mouk Brosey was born at the old farm at Medway, and died there June 24, 1918, at the age of fifty-four. At the age of twenty-five he married Minnie Harnish, of Osborn, Greene County, Ohio, daughter of Jacob and Rebecca Ann (Gram) Harnish. Jacob Harnish was a soldier in the Civil war, and for some years before his death was a dry goods merchant at Osborn in Greene County. He died at the age of sixty-two and his wife at seventy. He was an active member of the Grand Army of the Republic.
Minnie Harnish, only child of her parents, after her marriage lived with her husband in the village of Medway until the death of Mr. Brosey’s mother, when they returned to the old farm. Mr. Brosey was a successful farmer and a cattle raiser, and was quite active in the democratic party.
Mrs. Brosey is the mother of four children and still occupies the farm of 125 acres in Bethel Township. Her son, Harnish G., graduated from high school, attended Wittenberg College at Springfield, and married Marie Stork, by whom he has two children, Helen Louise and Harry William. Anna Rebecca is the wife of Paul Gerlaugh, a resident of Columbus and an extension worker for the Ohio State University. Mr. and Mrs. Gerlaugh have one daughter, Julia Ann. The two youngest children are George Dewey and Catherine Elizabeth. George Dewey married Hazel C. Kline, and they have one child, Dewey R.
Source: A Standard History of Springfield and Clark County, Ohio by Benjamin F. Prince, 1922, page 148
THOMAS BROWN, nurseryman. The subject hereof is the son of Thomas and Susanna Brown, both natives of the State of Maryland, who emigrated to Miami Co., Ohio, in 1838, where they resided until their decease. Their family consisted of four children, viz., John, born Jan. 25, 1819; David, born in 1820; George and Thomas, born Feb. 23, 1823. The one with whom we have to deal is the last named, Thomas. He was born while his parents were in Maryland. He received a rather meager education in his native State, and learned the cooper trade, in which he continued until about 1846, when he took up the business of nurseryman, to which he is now devoting his attention. He married Miss Hannah Maria Wyant, March 28, 1838, who has since become the mother of the children whose names and dates of births follow, viz., Harriet M., born May 16, 1851, died Sept. 16, 1851; Mary C., born Feb. 19, 1853; Jacob N. and Thomas A., born Oct. 31, 1854; the former died Dec. 2, 1854; the latter Dec. 10, 1854; Martha J., born Dec. 22, 1855; Arbah A., born Sept. 7, 1858, died Aug. 14, 1870; Wilber W., born Jan. 9, 1861; Artemus C. E., born March 10, 1863; Lulu B., born April 23, 1866; Emma D., born June 23, 1868; Allie C. and Lilly D., born Sept. 26, 1870.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 1026
BENJAMIN F. BRUBAKER, farmer; P.O. Springfield. He lives one mile north of the city of Springfield, between the Springfield & Urbana and Clark Union Pikes; he erected his beautiful, convenient and cozy residence in 1876; he is the only brother of Ephraim Brubaker, who lives on the adjoining farm north. Benjamin was born July 24, 1853; he is an active young farmer, who believes in making farming a pleasure instead of a drudge; he owns an excellent farm of 100 acres, which he has very appropriately named “Sunny Side Farm.” He was married, Nov. 29, 1876, to Medora E. (familiarly known as Dora) Bosart; she is an intelligent, generous lady, well suited to make the life of a farmer radiant and cheerful; she delights in making her home pleasing to her husband and welcome to her friends and visitors; she is the daughter of T. L. and Matilda (Moss) Bosart, whose sketch will be found elsewhere in this work, and who were pioneers of the county. Mr. Brubaker is yet a young man, and his prospects are indeed bright and promising.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 796
EPHRIAM Z. BRUBAKER, farmer; P. O. Springfield. Born Sept. 11, 1848, upon the farm where he now lives, and has resided all his life. Is a son of Benjamin K. and Mary (Zimmermann) Brubaker, natives of Pennsylvania, he being born in Lancaster Co., May 15, 1824, and she in Dauphin Co. Sept. 29, 1826. They became residents of Clark Co. in 1848, where they resided till their death. He died Oct. 21, 1857. They were parents of three children—Ephraim Z., Benjamin F. and John H. (deceased). Mrs. Brubaker married her second husband, Mr. T. L. Bosart, in November, 1863, by whom she had one child—John Harley. She died Oct. 3, 1873. Mr. Brubaker’s life was a brief one, being only in the 34th year of his age; but during his short life he was very successful as a farmer; was industrious and energetic, and acquired a good property. He was a member of the United Brethren Church, and died in the triumph of a living faith. Our subject, 9 years of age, at the death of his father, remained with his mother on the home place till his majority. On March 29, 1874, he married Miss Alvina, a daughter of John P. and Mary Bexroth, natives of Pennsylvania, but became residents of Clark Co., Ohio, in the spring of 1864. Mr. Brubaker has always remained upon the home farm. It consists of 101 acres of good land with good improvements, a fine brick house and all the conveniences, constituting a fine home and residence, situated about two miles north of Springfield. Mr. Brubaker and wife, by their marriage, have four children—Laura E., John H., Rosa May and Alice Irene.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 983
WILSON G. BRYANT, M.D., physician, Springfield; is a native of Ohio, a son of Rev. Daniel Bryant, who was a native of New Jersey, born in 1799. He came West in 1818 with his father’s family who located in Indiana. Daniel acquired an education principally by his own unaided efforts and study, his only school advantages being an attendance at Miami University one term; he early became a teacher, and continued to teach many years. He married, in 1824, Elvira, daughter of Ichabod Corwin, and in the same year was ordained a minister of the Baptist denomination. In his earlier ministerial years, Elder Bryant was in charge of several important churches, the Freeman Street, Cincinnati, being one, but later in life, devoted himself to the work of strengthening the feeble churches in Southern Ohio, thus giving direction to the Baptist cause throughout all this region. His decease occurred at Honey Creek Church, Champaign County, in 1875, he being suddenly stricken with apoplexy while preaching in the pulpit, and expired in a few hours. His widow now resides at Urbana. The subject of this sketch was born in Burlington, Hamilton Co., Ohio, in 1825, and. during his youth, had more than ordinary educational facilities, having attended “Granville” one term before he was 18 years of age, but at this time was thrown upon his own resources and abandoned school and went to farming, and assisted his father in supporting the family until 1848; but his ambition for knowledge, and especially his desire for the study of medicine, would not be satisfied on a farm longer than necessity compelled him to remain. His spare time was spent in study and reading medicine, and, although he married in 1848, yet he pursued his studies and completed his medical education, supporting his family and defraying his educational expenses by his own labor. He began practice in Champaign County in 1852, but soon after removed to Grand Prairie, Ill., where he practiced about two years, then removed to Covington, Miami Co., Ohio, where he practiced until the spring of 1862, when he entered the United States service as Assistant Surgeon of the 122d O. V. I.; having been captured at Winchester, Va.; in 1863, he was placed in charge of the hospital by the Confederate States Medical Director; about two months later, was captured by the Union forces, in connection with the other occupants of the hospital; subsequently, the 6th Corps, to which his regiment was attached, took part in many of the important battles of the Armies of Virginia and of the Potomac, and he was almost constantly on detailed duty, being almost invariably placed in charge of the field hospital for the wounded. In 1865, as an acknowledgment of his meritorious services, he was promoted to the rank of Surgeon and assigned to the 197th O. V. I., and continued in the service until August, 1865. While in charge of the post hospital at Winchester, Va., after the battle in 1864, after caring for all other cases, he became interested in nine men whose wounds were considered fatal, being compound and cominuted fractures of the thigh so near the body as to suggest the necessity of the amputation at the hip joint, which operation, on account of its extreme risk, was forbidden by general order from the department at Washington; the Doctor’s sympathy for these, thus virtually abandoned to die, led him to attempt to save them; being a natural mechanical genius, he provided the necessary appliances and instituted conservative surgical treatment, and by improvising some “Smith’s Anterior Splints,” secured requisite extension and counter-extension, and, by otherwise adapting his treatment to each particular case, succeeded in saving with useful limbs seven of the nine thus treated; he also performed the exceptional surgical operation of ligating successfully the femoral artery, and frequently performed operations for the extraction of balls from the cervical angle of the neck. Feb. 3, 1865, the Surgeons of the corps and division united in a letter to the Surgeon General of the State, complimenting and explaining the services rendered by Dr. Bryant while in charge of the different hospitals. A copy of this letter, with other trophies, are now in the Doctor’s possession, prized mementos of achievements of which he has just reason to be proud, especially as his meritorious operations and surgical treatment were without precedent. After his return from army life to Covington, he removed, in November, 1865, to Springfield, where he has since practiced his profession, and now enjoys a large practice, and is held in high esteem both as a physician and citizen. He has no living children, except an adopted daughter, Frances A., who, with himself and wife, is a member of the First Baptist Church, Mrs. Bryant and Frances being identified with the different departments of church activities.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 796
EDWARD LYON BUCHWALTER. A record of admirable achievement in connection with the commercial development and progress of the City of Springfield stands to the credit and honor of Captain Buchwalter, and in this connection no other one man has shown greater civic and business loyalty or been more prominent ii> constructive enterprise.
He was preceded to Springfield by kinsmen, John W. and Frank M. Bookwalter (who utilized an anglicized spelling of the family patronymic), all of whom gained prominence and influence in progressive industrialism and general advancement in Springfield. The lineage of the Buchwalter family traces back to residents of one of the German-speaking cantons of Switzerland, from which fair little republic the progenitors of the American branch came to this country in the year 1710, and established residence in Pennsylvania.
Edward L. Buchwalter, a son of Levi and Margaret (Lyon) Buchwalter, was born on a farm in Ross County, Ohio, June 1, 1841. He was a student in Ohio University, at Athens, at the inception of the Civil war, and he did not long deny manifestation of his youthful patriotism. In August, 1862, he became a sergeant in Company A, One Hundred and Fourteenth Ohio Volunteer Infantry, and the first engagement in which he took part was under General Sherman at Chickasaw Bayou, in front of the Northern fortifications of Vicksburg. Thereafter he participated in a spirited engagement at Fort Hindman, Arkansas, and he was actively identified with the continuous military movements of the Union forces commanded by General Grant leading up to the subjugation of the so-called “Gibraltar of the West.” On July 4, 1863, he assisted in the digging of the historic canal designed to isolate Vicksburg, and in the command of General Osterhaus’ Division, in General McClernards’ Corps, he aided in the building of pontoon bridges. He took part in the engagements at Port Gibson, Raymond, Champion Hill, Big Black River and the assaults on Vicksburg, and thus had his full share of intensive warfare. His executive ability and soldierly qualities led to his being commissioned first lieutenant in the Fiftythird United States Colored Infantry, and in May, 1864, he was promoted captain. Following the fall of Vicksburg his company and regiment were located at Goodrich Landing and Millikens Bend, Louisiana, until January, 1864 when they moved to Vicksburg, Mississippi. From Vicksburg, during the month of October, they went up the White River to St. Charles, Arkansas. While on this journey they were many times under fire. In the spring of 1865 Captain Buchwalter returned to Vicksburg, whence he was sent to Jackson, Mississippi. After the war came to a close he continued in the service of the Government, first as provost marshal at Macon. Mississippi, and later in similar service at Meridan, that state, where he had charge also of the Freedman’s Aid Bureau.
It was not until March 8, 1866, that he received his honorable discharge, and after the lapse of years he has only gracious memories of his military career, with kindly feeling for those who fought for the South as well as those who were soldiers of the Union. His continued interest in his old comrades in arms has been vitalized by his appreciative affiliation with the Grand Army of the Republic and the military order known as the Loyal Legion.
After the close of the war Captain Buchwalter was engaged in farm enterprise in his native county until 1873, when he came to Springfield. Here for ten years he was associated with the firm of James Leffel & Company, and in 1883 he became one of the organizers and the president of the Superior Drill Company, which purchased the plant and business of Thomas, Ludlow & Rodgers. Upon the organization of the American Seeding Machine Company, in March, 1903, representing an amalgamation of several manufacturing concerns, Captain Buchwalter was elected president of this important industrial corporation and so continued until he retired from active business on reaching his three score and ten years. The Captain has been president of the Citizens National Bank of Springfield from the time of its organization, in 1898. He has functioned prominently, loyally and with much of influence in connection with civic and business affairs in Springfield, and his is inviolable place in the confidence and esteem of the community that has long represented his home and the central stage of his productive activities.
On the 1st of September, 1868, Captain Buchwalter wedded Miss Clementine Berry, and she passed to the life eternal in November, 1912.
Mrs. Buchwalter was a woman of fine intellectuality and gracious personality, was prominent in Ohio and the nation, and was loved by those who came within the sphere of her gentle influence. In March, 1914, Captain Buchwalter wedded Miss Marilla Andrews, a cousin of his first wife, and she is the popular chatelaine of their attractive home.
Source: A Standard History of Springfield and Clark County, Ohio by Benjamin F. Prince, 1922, page 9
LUTHER L. BUCHWALTER. is a popular representative of a family whose name has been one of conspicuous prominence in connection with the industrial, commercial and physical advancement of the City of Springfield, and he is here vice president of the American Seeding Machine Company, one of the great industrial corporations representing an amalgamation of a number of leading manufacturing concerns. In January, 1892, Mr. Buchwalter became associated with the Superior Drill Company, which later was merged with the American Seeding Machine Company, and his identification with the business has thus been consecutive for thirty years.
Mr. Buchwalter was born in Ross County, Ohio, September 9, 1874, and is a son of Morris L. and Louise (Zimmerman) Buchwalter, the former a brother of Edward L. Buchwalter, of Springfield, of whom specific mention is made in sketch preceding. In the public schools of his native city Luther L. Buchwalter continued his studies until he had profited by the advantages of the high school, after which he was a student in the Cincinnati School of Technology. After leaving this latter institution he came to Springfield and took a minor position with the Superior Drill Company. In the office department of the business he made advancement through the different grades until he became secretary of the company, and since 1920 he has been vice president of the American Seeding Machine Company, which absorbed the property and business of the former corporation. Mr. Buchwalter, like other representatives of the family in Springfield, has shown marked civic liberality and progressiveness, and has gained secure place as one of the vital exponents of industrial enterprise in this city. He is affiliated with the Masonic fraternity.
In June, 1901, was solemnized the marriage of Mr. Buchwalter and Miss Jessie Johnson, daughter of Robert Johnson, of Springfield, and the one child of this union is a son, Edward L.
Source: A Standard History of Springfield and Clark County, Ohio by Benjamin F. Prince, 1922, page 10
EBENEZER M. BUCKINGHAM, M.D., physician, Springfield. Dr. Buckingham is a son of Milton and Belinda (Cooley) Buckingham; she was a native of Springfield, Mass., and he of New York State, from which they removed in the year 1800, to the Northwest Territory, and settled in what is now Athens Co., Ohio; he was a farmer, but removed to Zanesville in 1832 and engaged merchandising, and came to Springfield in 1843, where he continued in mercantile trade several years, having retired two or three years before his decease, which occurred in 1852; his widow and three children survived him; her decease occurred in Springfield in 1872; the two sons and a daughter still reside here. The subject of this sketch was born in Athens County in 1824; he received a rudimentary and preparatory education in select schools, and graduated from Kenyon College in 1846, after which he read medicine with the late Dr. Robert Rodgers, and began the practice of his profession here in Springfield, his first experience being in 1849, still remembered as the cholera year; in the winter of 1849-50, he attended lectures at and graduated from Jefferson College, Philadelphia, and has since practiced his profession here, having the deserved confidence and liberal patronage of the community. He has been a member of the Clark County Medical Society since its organization; is a member of the Episcopal Church, and has contributed toward the improvement of the city and county, having lately completed a fine three-story block on the southeast corner of Limestone and High streets. He married, in 1850, Miss Mary Berdan, daughter of the late Judge Berdan, of Toledo; her decease occurred in 1865; one son and a daughter survive—John M., now a medical student, and Miss Alice. In 1867, he married Miss Caroline Starring, of LaFayette, Ind.; from this union, four children survive—Benjamin S., Belinda, William L. and Avery.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 798
WASHINGTON BUFFENBARGER (deceased); was born in Madison Township, Clark Co., Ohio, Jan. 17, 1809; a son of George and Hannah Buffenbarger, both natives of Virginia, who emigrated from their native State in 1807, and located on the Little Miami River, at the place above mentioned, where they purchased a very large tract of land, and where the residue of their lives was spent. They were the parents of ten children. The first born in Virginia, died in infancy. The others were born in Ohio and lived to adult age. Their names were as follows: Jesse, Washington, Samuel and Sampson (twins), Simington, Salmon, Eve, Mary and Angus. Sampson, the only survivor, resides in Anglaise Co., Ohio. Washington was raised to manual labor on his father’s farm, and was always engaged in agricultural pursuits. On the 24th of February, 1831, he was united in marriage with Mary Goudy, by whom he had five children—Peter, Mary H., Mahala A., Priscilla and Francis M. Washington Buffenbarger departed this life in July, 1877. His wife survives and resides on the farm. She was born in Vance Township, Greene County (which is Green Township, Clark County since 1818); Oct. 22, 1808 is the date of her birth. John Goudy, her father, was of Irish descent, born in Redding Co., Penn. His first marriage was celebrated in Kentucky, and, in 1803, they, with their two children, emigrated to Ohio and settled in Hamilton County. Five years later they moved to the place previously mentioned. Ten children were born to them—Alexander, Nancy, Ann, John, Rebecca, Mary, Robert S., Elizabeth, Isabel and Hannah. His second marriage was consummated with Nancy Murphy. The children of this union were seven in number.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 1060
WARREN K. BUFFENBARGER is a well known business man of South Charleston, where he is proprietor of the leading garage. He also has and manages some valuable farming interests in this section. of Clark County.
Mr. Buffenbarger was born on a farm in Green Township, August 6, 1883, son of Samuel and Florence (Baldwin) Buffenbarger. The Buffenbargers were one of the first families of Clark County. His grandfather, George Buffenbarger, was a native of Virgina and was one of the first settlers in Madison Township, where he located in 1806. Samuel Buffenbarger was born in Madison Township, July 28, 1851. His wife, Florence Baldwin, was born in Greene Township, September 13, 1854, daughter of John and Jane McQuality Baldwin.
Samuel Buffenbarger and wife were reared and educated in Madison Township, and after their marriage settled on a farm in Green Township. She died on the old homestead, and he passed away at South Charleston in 1921. They were members of the Presbyterian Church, and in politics the father voted as a republican.
Warren K. Buffenbarger was the only one of five children to survive infancy. He spent his life on the farm, acquired a district school education, and in 1908 moved to South Charleston, where for twelve years he was active in the lumber business. Since 1920 he has devoted his time to the management of his garage and his farm.
November 25, 1903, Mr. Buffenbarger married Della McDaniel, a native of Pickaway County, Ohio. Mr. and Mrs. Buffenbarger have two children: Elmer Willard, born December 29, 1909, and Warren K., Jr., born in 1914. Mrs. Buffenbarger is a Presbyterian. He is affiliated with the Junior Order United American Mechanics and is a republican.
Source: A Standard History of Springfield and Clark County, Ohio by Benjamin F. Prince, 1922, page 72
JOHN W. BURK, whose death occurred on the 17th of April, 1917, left a distinct and most worthy impression on the industrial, commercial and civic affairs of the City of Springfield, and a tribute to his memory properly finds place in this volume. He was born and reared in Canada, the year of his nativity having been 1850. He attended school in his boyhood days, but early began the battle of life for himself. His first work was in a flour mill, and with the passing years he became skilled in all details of the milling business. In 1869 he came to the United States, and he continued his association with milling operations at Grand Rapids, Kalamazoo, Coldwater and other points in Michigan, as well as in other states of the Middle West.
In July, 1897, Mr. Burk established his residence at Springfield, Ohio, where he purchased the Warder & Barnett milling plant, one of the oldest in this section of the state. The condition of the plant physically was at a low status, and many local business men, familiar with conditions, believed that the property and business could not be revived and placed on a paying basis. It was the energy, technical ability and well ordered executive policies of Mr. Burk that conspired to the development of this property into one of the most important mills in Ohio, the while the business became one of most prosperous order. In 1902 Mr. Burk effected a reorganization of the business and enlisted the capitalistic co-operation which made possible the enlarging and modernizing of the plant. It was in this year that he organized and incorporated the Ansted & Burk Company, and with amplified provisions that left but little of the original equipment of the mill he was the guiding spirit in making the business so expand as to constitute an important addition to the industrial and commercial interests of Springfield and in bringing the products of the mill up to the highest standard. Mr. Burk’s inflexible personal integrity was reflected in all phases of his business career, he was generous, honorable, progressive as a man of affairs and loyal and liberal as a citizen. His was a gracious personality, and he made and retained friends in all classes, for his character was the positive expression of a true and noble nature. He served two years as president of the Springfield Chamber of Commerce, and through this and other mediums did much to advance the interests of his home city. He gained national repute in his chosen sphere of business and was for two terms president of the Millers National Federation. He was a Knight Templar Mason, and in the Scottish Rite of the fraternity received the thirty-second degree.
Mr. Burk wedded Miss Ida Negus, who was born in Massachusetts, and who survives him, as do also their two daughters, Helen M. and Mabel B.
Source: A Standard History of Springfield and Clark County, Ohio by Benjamin F. Prince, 1922, page 194
MRS. JULIA A. BURNETT. Springfield. She is the widow of Thomas P. Burnett, deceased; her residence, on Woodside Farm, is just east of the city, on the road leading south from the Clifton Pike. Mrs. Burnett was born in Pennsylvania June 22, 1820; came with her parents to Ohio in 1828, and was united in marriage with Mr. Burnett May 10, 1847; four children were born unto them, of whom but two are still living—William D. and Thomas P., Jr.; the former was married, in 1872, to Florence, daughter of Thomas P. and Clara Norton; lives at home with his mother and carries on the farm; and Thomas is engaged in the lumber trade in Springfield, corner Main street and Western avenue, under the firm name of Woliston, Chambers & Burnett. William and Thomas attended the private school of the Hon. C. Robbins some three years, when Thomas ceased going to school, to go into business; but William continued his studies for awhile longer at Wittenberg College. Mr. Burnett was an early settler in this county, and was always highly esteemed by his acquaintances and friends; and Mrs. Burnett is a lady of culture and refinement.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 798
WILLIAM RILEY BURNETT, former mayor of Springfield and former commandant of the Soldiers Home, represents an old Clark County family, and for many years has been one of Springfield’s most substantial and influential citizens and business men.
He was born in Springfield Township, August 17, 1846, son of John and Mary (Jones) Burnett. His great-grandfather was a cousin of Daniel Boone. His paternal grandparents were Richard and Mary (Nolan) Burnett. Richard Burnett, a native of Cynthiana, Kentucky, came to Clark County in early days, driving a wagon overland. For many years he was proprietor of the old Pennsylvania House. John Burnett, father of William R. Burnett, was born in Springfield Township, October 8, 1821. He was well educated, learned the trade of millwright and carpenter, taught school one winter in Indiana, and after returning to Springfield Township followed his trade and for a long period of years was an employee of the T. T. Mast Company. On January 5, 1843, John Burnett married Mary Jones, who was born at Culpeper Court House, Virginia, July 25, 1825. Her father, Wesley Jones, on moving with his family from Virginia, lived for a time in Knox County, Ohio, then in Clark County, and soon left here, his daughter Mary, however, remaining with the Vance family until her marriage. She died April 3, 1907, while John Burnett passed away February 9, 1890. They were the parents of Thomas Henry, William Riley, George, Mary Jane, James Buchanan, Emma, Edward and Lewis, the only two now living being William R. and Lewis.
William Riley Burnett grew up in Springfield Township, and had the privilege of attending school in the western school house only until he was fourteen years of age. At that time he began work, and has been largely on his own responsibility ever since, and what he has achieved has been directly due to his ambition and well directed energy. On October 19, 1865, he married Mary Catherine Monohan. She was born in Springfield, June 17, 1844, daughter of John and Eliza (Tuttle) Monohan, both natives of Clark County. Her paternal grandfather, Michael Monohan, was a native of Ireland. Her maternal grandparents, Caleb and Mary (Prickett) Tuttle, came from Virginia to Clark County. The Tuttles were very early pioneers in Springfield Township.
In the meantime Mr. Burnett had served a period of nine months enlistment as a Union soldier. He enlisted July 3, 1863, in Company A of the Fourth Independent Battalion of Cavalry, and was on duty in Tennessee until honorably discharged February 16, 1864. Soon after his marriage he took up work as a machinist in the old Champion Shop, and continued to be associated with that prominent local industry for twenty-one years. After this long and faithful service he was an agent for the Union Central Life Insurance Company of Cincinnati for more than a year, and then engaged in the grocery business at 60 East Main Street. After selling this he was manager of the Springfield Breweries until 1900.
A man who had demonstrated his ability in business affairs and his thorough public spirit, Mr. Burnett was called by popular election to the chair of mayor, and by re-election served two more terms, until 1909, when he resigned to accept appointment as commandant of Sandusky’s Soldiers Home. His wife was appointed matron of the home. Both gave the best of their ability and service to the management of this institution until July 1, 1921, when they resigned. Since then Mr. Burnett has lived partly retired at 215 West Columbia Street. He also owns the old Burnett home at the corner of High and Plum streets.
Mr. Burnett among other public services was for six years a member of the School Board, four years represented the First Ward on the City Council, for four years was on the Board of Public Service and four years on the Police and Fire Board. For another four years he was government gauger at the William Burns Distillery. Mr. Burnett was reared a Lutheran, was a democrat in politics, and is affiliated with Clark Lodge No. 101, Free and Accepted Masons, Springfield Lodge No. 33, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, Division No. 44, Uniformed Rank, Red Star Lodge No. 205, Knights of Pythias, and Lodge No. 51, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. Mrs. Burnett was reared in the Baptist Church.
Mr. and Mrs. Burnett have two sons. Theodore Addison, born December 3, 1869, was the youngest graduate of the American Veterinary College of New York, and for a number of years has practiced his profession at Columbus, Ohio. He married Emily Morgan, and they have a son, William Riley, Jr., born November 25, 1900. The second son, Levi Herr Burnett, born October 14, 1874, is a graduate of Kenyon College and Columbia Law School of New York City. He has successfully practiced law at Pittsburgh, and is assistant to the president of the Carnegie Steel Company. He married Clara Brown, and they have three children: Elizabeth, born May 30, 1899, and now the wife of Dwight Beer, of Pittsburgh; William Herr, born in October, 1900; and Mary Priscilla, born June 15, 1912.
Source: A Standard History of Springfield and Clark County, Ohio by Benjamin F. Prince, 1922, page 94
HONORABLE T. ADDISON BUSBEY. The Busbey family of Clark County has furnished to the world a number of men of exceptional ability and achievements. Nearly all of them at one time or another were actively associated with school work, and from education they were drawn into journalism. As writers, editors and authors the name has national distinction. The father of the family was Thomas C. Busbey, a pioneer of Harmony Township and one of the first residents of Vienna. He devoted the greater part of his active life, thirty years, to the teaching profession. He married Anna Botkin, a daughter of Richard Botkin, an early settler of Pleasant Township, Clark County. After their marriage Thomas C. Busbey and wife lived in Vienna, and while they never accumulated wealth, they were thoroughly respected for their fine ideals and their usefulness. They had eleven children, reared nine to maturity, and eight of them became teachers. Seven of the family are still living.
Two of the sons were soldiers in the Civil war. The late William H. Busbey was a soldier in Company C of the First Kentucky Regiment and after the war he taught school, served as city editor of the Ohio State Journal, was associate editor on the Toledo Blade and until his death in 1906 was managing editor of the Chicago Inter-Ocean, at that time one of America’s greatest newspapers. Hamilton Busbey, who was born in 1840, was a member of the staff of the Louisville Journal under George D. Prentice from 1863 to 1865 and in the latter year became one of the founders of the Turf, Field and the Farm at New York and was editor of that paper until 1903. He was a judge in many of the racing and horse shows of the United States, was the first advocate of the National Trotting Association and is author of several works on the horse and a recognized authority on light harness horses. He is now living at Vienna, Ohio. Another son, L. White Busbey, who was born in 1852, was on the local staff and later chief political writer on the Chicago Inter-Ocean until going to Washington as correspondent for that paper. He was connected with the Chicago Inter-Ocean from 1879 to 1905, was secretary to the Speaker of the House, Joseph G. Cannon, from 1904 to 1911, and served as secretary of the American section of the International Joint Commission with Great Britain in 1911-15. He is a resident of Washington. Another son, Charles S. Busbey, has lived in Chicago for twenty-seven years, and is a member of the Board of Local Improvement of that city. Among the daughters were Louisa, now deceased; Angelina, wife of James S. Rice, who died August 16, 1922; Miss Harriett, who was an educator for many years; and Mary, widow of Theodore Postle.
T. Addison Busbey, youngest of the eleven children, was born in the village of Vienna, in Harmony Township, June 11, 1858. He acquired his public school education, as a boy took upon himself the responsibilities for his higher education, and throughout his life has been a man imbued with an ambition to do for others as well as for himself. At the age of seventeen he was granted a teacher’s certificate. He taught school until he was twenty-one. Seeking some of the broader opportunities in the world of journalism, where his brothers had distinguished themselves, he removed to Chicago in the spring of 1883 and for a quarter of a century, beginning in a minor capacity, he was associated with the Railway Age, probably the foremost publication in the United States representing the railroad and transportation interests in general. He served the Railwav Age as reporter, assistant editor and managing editor, and he himself became a noted individual authority on transportation matters. His statistical articles commanded wide attention, being copied almost universally by the great dailies of the country, and many were reproduced in leading journals of Europe.
Leaving Chicago in 1908, Mr. Busbey returned to the village of his birth, and while conducting a general insurance business and looking after his private affairs, he has received repeated honors indicative of the esteem and confidence reposed in him by his fellow citizens here. In 1909 he was elected mayor of South Vienna, was re-elected in 1911, 1913 and 1915, and throughout his successive terms he gave a municipal administration notable for law enforcement and also for progressive betterment in the civic and physical improvement of the village. In 1916 Mr. Busbey was nominated on the republican ticket as candidate for the State Senate, representing the Eleventh Senatorial District, composed of Clark, Madison and Champaign counties, and was elected and took his seat January 1, 1917. He was re-elected in 1918, and was one of the influential members of the State Senate until January 1, 1921. In the Eighty-second Session of the Legislature he was a member of thirteen committees and chairman of two of them, including the roads and highway committee, and was author of the highway bill enacted during that session. Senator Busbey while engaged in newspaper work in Chicago was editor and compiler of a biographical directory of railroad officials, which went through five editions.
Mr. Busbey married Emancipation Proclamation Coggeshall, daughter of Hon. William T. Coggeshall, one of Ohio’s foremost newspaper men, at one time editor of the Ohio State Journal and who was private secretary to Governor Dennison during the Civil war and was state librarian of Ohio. He was author of many books, and was appointed United States minister to Ecuador, and died while in that office, in 1867. Mrs. Busbey was educated at Columbus and in Otterbein College at Westerville, Ohio. Senator and Mrs. Busbey were married June 28, 1888, and she died at her home in Vienna October 1, 1913.
The only son is Ralph C. Busbey, born at Chicago, May 12, 1890. He graduated from high school and in 1908 returned with his parents to Vienna. He was a reporter on the Springfield Daily News, in 1912 went to Columbus with the Citizen, again was associated with the Daily News at Springfield, served as chief deputy clerk of courts of Clark County, became managing editor of the Springfield Morning Sun, acted as special correspondent at Columbus for the Associated Press, for a time was connected with the Goodyear Tire and Rubber Company, and is now in charge of the Akron News Bureau of the Cleveland Plain Dealer.
Source: A Standard History of Springfield and Clark County, Ohio by Benjamin F. Prince, 1922, page 18
THOMAS C. BUSBEY, retired teacher; P. O. Vienna Cross Roads. Matthew Busbey, the grandfather of the subject of this sketch, was born in the county of Antrim, Ireland. He came to America about the year 1771. He settled on the south bank of the Potomac, in Hampshire Co., Va. He was a soldier in the Revolutionary army. At the time of his death he left a widow, five sons and one daughter. Hamilton Busbey, the father of the subject of this sketch, being the youngest. Hamilton Busbey was born in Hampshire Co., Va., on the old homestead, July 5, 1792. He was married to Miss Sophia Lewis, of Winchester, Va., in the year 1813. This union was blessed by the birth of seven sons and five daughters, ten of whom are now living, the subject of this sketch being the oldest. Hamilton Busbey and family came to Ohio in October, 1815, and settled in what is now Harmony Township, near the town of Lisbon. Hamilton was a man of considerable influence. He took an active part in the organization of Clark County and Harmony Township. He did much in the organization of the schools of Harmony Township. Hamilton Busbey, in 1815, was looking about for a suitable place to locate in the county. At this time he was offered the lot upon which Jones & Miller’s dry goods store is now situated in Springfield for a very small sum of money, but in his judgment at that time Lisbon was the most promising place of the two, where he purchased a corner lot. What a change since then! Hamilton Busbey was a Quartermaster in the war of 1812. Mr. Busbey was for some years the owner of a farm near where the town of Plattsburg now is. He and his family (excepting the subject of this sketch) moved to Illinois in 1839, and settled in Coles Co., where he died Dec. 16, 1847. His wife, Sophia, died at the same place April 2, 1855. The subject of this sketch, Thomas C. Busbey, was born in the town of Romney, in Hampshire Co., Va., March 13, 1815. He came to Harmony Township with his parents in 1815, where he has continued to reside since. He commenced teaching school at the age of 19 years, and continued to teach for thirty-five years in Clark Co. Mr. Busbey was united in marriage, May 24, 1838, to Miss Anna Bodkin, a daughter of Richard Bodkin, who was a pioneer of Ohio. He was born in Harrison Co., Va., in 1787. He settled in Hamilton Co., Ohio, in 1803, and moved to Clark Co. in 1808. Richard Bodkin’s wife, Elizabeth Bodkin (nee) Hester, was born July 28, 1782; she lived where Cincinnati, Ohio, now is, when there were but three houses in that neighborhood. As a result of the marriage of Thomas C. and Anna Busbey, there has been born to them ten children, nine of whom are now living—William (the political editor of the Inter-Ocean, of Chicago, Ill.), Hamilton (a contributing editor, and one of the proprietors of the Turf, Field and Farm, of New York City), L. W. (city editor of the Inter-Ocean, of Chicago, Ill.), Charles S. (a school teacher), T. A. (who lives with his parents), Louise (the wife of W. H. Neer), Angelina (the wife of James Rice), Hattie (who lives at home), Mary (the wife of Theodore Postle), Daniel W. (a son who died May 9, 1865). A very remarkable circumstance is connected with this family; nine out of the ten children have been school-teachers. Where is there another family like them? William and Hamilton were members of Co. C, 1st Ky. V. I. Hamilton served three years. William served two, and was discharged by special order, in order that he might edit the Louisville Journal. Daniel W. was a clerk in the Provost Marshall’s office at Clarksville, Tenn., and Post Librarian at Louisville, Ky. Mr. Busbey enlisted as a “squirrel hunter” to defend Cincinnati against the Kirby Smith raid. Mr. Busbey has been elected Township Clerk; has served for ten years as a member of the Republican Central Committee; was appointed Deputy United States Marshal in 1870, and took the census of Pleasant, Madison and Harmony Townships. Mr. B. is now in his 66th year, a man of clear mind and possessed a wonderful amount of knowledge.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 957
ASA S. BUSHNELL, manufacturer, Springfield; is a member of the oldest and largest manufacturing establishment of Springfield; he is a native of New York State, born in Oneida County Sept.16, 1834; came to Springfield in 1851, and was engaged as a dry goods clerk three years, then became book-keeper for Leffel, Cook & Blakeney, afterward Mason, Cook & Blakeney; in 1857, he entered the office of Warder, Brookaw & Child, and, in the fall of the same year, became a partner with Ludlow in the drug trade, in which he continued until 1867, when he became the junior partner of the firm of Warder, Mitchell & Co., now Warder, Bushnell & Glessner. He married, Sept. 17, 1857, Miss Ellen, daughter of John Ludlow. Mr. Bushnell’s career in Springfield is worthy of note; beginning when a youth as clerk, he gradually worked his way through office work to the confidence and esteem of his employers, and, after ten years’ experience as a druggist, was invited to a partnership with one of his former employers, and thus became identified with the leading manufacturing interest of the city; he is an active business man, social and courteous in all relations of life; he is highly esteemed as a citizen, and regarded as a man of rare business qualifications and prospects; his residence is No. — East High street, and compares favorably with the many elegant houses for which this street is noted. He was Captain of Co. E, 156th O. N. G., which company he recruited and accompanied in the 100-days service.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 798
ASA SMITH BUSHNELL, fortieth governor of Ohio, reflected the distinction of his spotless private life and long leadership in business and politics upon the City of Springfield, his home for over half a century. The name Bushnell will always remain significant in Springfield, and as a result of the career of the late Governor Bushnell it has a permanent national distinction as one of the great industrial captains of the last century and one of the most trusted leaders Ohio gave to the republican party.
Governor Bushnell was borm at Rome, Oneida County, New York, September 16, 1834, and was of old New England ancestry. His grandfather, Jason Bushnell, fought as an American soldier in the Continental Army during the Revolution. He was first a member of the company of Capt. Charles Miel, in General Waterbury’s Brigade, and subsequently was with Washington’s Army at Tarrytown. The Connecticut family of Bushnells has been distinguished in the field of science and education. Daniel Bushnell, father of Governor Bushnell, was born at Lisbon, Connecticut, February 17, 1800. In 1845 he brought his family to Ohio, locating in Cincinnati. Daniel Bushnell married Miss Harriet Smith on March 9, 1825.
Asa S. Bushnell was eleven years of age when the family moved to Cincinnati, and he completed his education in the common schools of that city. Like nearly all the prominent men that Ohio produced in the last century, he had only the advantages of common schools, and his achievements were more directly the product of his integrity and resourceful energy rather than the result of unusual training or education. Asa Bushnell came to Springfield in 1851. A youth of seventeen, his first employment here was as clerk in a dry goods store. Three years later he became bookkeeper for the firm of Leffel, Cook & Blakeney. In the spring of 1857 he accepted employment as bookkeeper and traveling salesman for Warder, Brokaw and Child. Though he remained with this firm only a few months, the employment is significant since their business was the manufacture of mowers and reapers, and it is with the great industry of manufacturing harvesting machinery that the name Bushnell is most closely identified. After leaving that firm Mr. Bushnell was for ten years associated with his father-in-law, Dr. John Ludlow, in the drug business.
In the meantime the Civil war came on and the young business man readily put the call of patriotic duty above private interests and raised Company E of the One Hundred and Fifty-second Ohio Infantry. As captain of this company he was under the command of Gen. David Hunter in the Shenandoah Valley campaign of 1864. After the war he resumed his connection with the drug business, but a few years later rejoined his former employers, which firm in the meantime had become Warder, Mitchell & Company. Still later this became the Warder, Bushnell & Glessner Company, and as a Springfield industry it was one of the foundation stones upon which the city’s industrial progress rested. Mr. Bushnell became president of the company in 1886, and the machinery manufactured by his company and bearing his name was distributed and used in every agricultural state of the Union, and was exported to practically every agricultural country in the world.
Among other important business interests that felt the guiding hand of Governor Bushnell were the First National Bank and the Springfield Gas Company, which he served as president, and he was a stockholder and director in a number of the city’s prominent corporations. Governor Bushnell always generously shared his great success in material affairs with his home community and its institutions. He was one of the largest benefactors of the Ohio Masonic Home at Springfield, and donated generously of his wealth to many other organizations and causes in his home city. He was a member of Mitchell Post, No. 45, G. A. R.
Apart from the intimate association of his name with manufacturing, his reputation over the state at large is due to his long and distinguished service in the republican party and the efficient administration he gave as governor of the state. In 1885 Mr. Bushnell became chairman of the Republican State Executive Committee, and in this connection he aided materially in securing that most important party victory implied in the election of Governor Foraker by a handsome plurality and in the unprecedented result of securing a republican majority in the General Assembly without the vote of Hamilton County, thus insuring the return of John Sherman to the United States Senate.
In 1886 he was appointed quartermaster-general of the state by Governor Foraker, and served in the capacity for a term of four years. In the State Republican Convention of 1887 Mr. Bushnell was nominated by acclamation as a candidate for lieutenant-governor on the ticket with Governor Foraker, but he declined the honor. In 1889 the leaders of Ohio republicanism insistently urged that he should head the party ticket, but he positively refused to have his name considered in the connection. Again, in 1891, he was most urgently importuned to accept the gubernatorial nomination, his party associates maintaining that he was the most logical and available man for the place, and the one who would most successfully uphold the standard of the organization; but owing to the intimate association of national politics in that campaign the nomination naturally went to Major McKinley, of whom Mr. Bushnell was a most ardent supporter. Mr. Bushnell was one of the four delegates at large from Ohio to the National Republican Convention at Minneapolis in 1892, and in every republican convention for many years he served as a delegate. He refused on several occasions to become a candidate for Congress from the Springfield District, and manifested at other times his preference for working in the cause aside from the position as a public official or candidate.
This high honor which was accorded Mr. Bushnell in his nomination for governor of the state came entirely without his solicitation. His services to the party and his particular eligibility for the office were so thoroughly recognized that at the Republican State Convention held at Zanesville in May, 1895, the demand for his nomination for governor was so unqualified that he could not but accept the candidacy. Throughout the ensuing campaign he made a canvass that was dignified and particularly gratifying to his constituents, gaining the good will of all classes, and in his utterance showing that practical judgment and effective policy which made his administration so thoroughly acceptable to the people of the state and so creditable to him as a man and as an official. The campaign was a vigorous one, and at the November election he was elected by the flattering majority of 92,622, a victory greater than any ever achieved by any other Ohio governors save John Brough, who was a candidate at the time of the late war and who received practically the entire vote of the state. Governor Bushnell was inaugurated on the 13th of January, 1896. As chief executive he conducted affairs with that mature wisdom and according to those practical business principles which his character naturally indicates. He was one of the delegates-at-large to the National Republican Convention held at St. Louis in June, 1896.
Governor Bushnell was a member of the Episcopal Church and was a Knight Templar and Scottish Rite Mason. In September, 1857, he married Miss Ellen Ludlow, daughter of Dr. John Ludlow, of Springfield. The death of Governor Bushnell occurred in 1904, and three children survived him: Mrs. J. F. McGrew, Mrs. H. C. Diamond and John L. Bushnell. The son is president of the First National Bank of Springfield.
Source: A Standard History of Springfield and Clark County, Ohio by Benjamin F. Prince, 1922, page 12
JOHN L. BUSHNELL had the disadvantage of being a son of an illustrious father, but in spite of that handicap has achieved for himself a prominence and a very useful place in the commercial life of his native city.
The career of his distinguished father, Governor Bushnell, is the subject of the full and carefully written article preceding and what follows is only a brief outline of the life and service of the son.
John L. Bushnell was born at Springfield, February 15, 1872. He was reared and received his early educational advantages in his home city and in 1894 graduated from Princeton University. He has given nearly thirty years of his life to the commercial affairs of Springfield. Mr. Bushnell is president of the First National Bank and president of the Morris Plan Bank. For many years he has been an ardent horseman and has owned some prize-winning animals. He married Miss Jessie M. Harwood, daughter of the late T. E. Harwood.
Source: A Standard History of Springfield and Clark County, Ohio by Benjamin F. Prince, 1922, page 14
A. W. BUTT, of P. P. Mast & Co., manufacturers, Springfield; is a native of Pennsylvania, born in Erie County in 1835; soon after his birth, his father removed with his family to La Porte, Ind., where he was engaged in milling and mercantile pursuits, which afforded excellent business advantages to the son, who became a partner with his father on arriving at his majority, but a year later they sold out, and Mr. Butt, Jr., went out West prospecting; after a stay of about four years, mostly spent in Kansas and Nebraska, he returned to La Porte and engaged in the sale of agricultural implements, in connection with the John H. Manny Reaper Works at Rockport, Ill., in which he continued about seven years; in 1862, he became connected as agent with the Buckeye Agricultural Works, then operated by Thomas & Mast; subsequently became general agent, and, at the re-organization of the firm, October, 1871, he became a member of the company, and, in the following January, was elected a Director, and has since been connected with the works; he now has charge of the trade throughout the North and Northwest, where is well and favorably known as a successful salesman. The extent of their business may be judged from the fact that the company do about $1,000,000 of business per annum, the sales department being under the supervision of Mr. Butt, W. C. Downey and C. C. Crane, the territory being divided between them. Mr. Butt married, in 1872, Frances G. Bagley; she was a native of Mercer Co., Penn., and, at the time of her marriage, resided with her parents at La Porte; her parents now reside there, both being nearly fourscore years of age. Mr. Butts’ residence is at 86 West High street; he is a successful business man, and a social, agreeable gentleman; he was a charter member of Anthony Lodge, F. & A. M., and also of Palestine Commandery, of which he is still an honored member.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 799
JOHN C. BUXTON, deceased; was prominently identified with the interests of Springfield. He was born in New Boston, N. H., where he attended school and afterward became a clerk in a dry goods store in Nashua. In 1848, he came to Springfield, and was employed as clerk in the office of the general local management of the C., S. & C. R. R.; subsequently succeeded to the local management, and in 1869 was appointed Assistant Superintendent, and for a number of years filled that position creditably; he was elected Cashier of the Savings Bank, to fill the vacancy caused by the death of John Newlove, which position he held at the time of his decease, which occurred July 21, 1880. Mr. Buxton left behind him the record of an active, honorable life; keen, active, far-seeing and wise in business, and affectionate with friends, he was held in high esteem in the business and social circles in which he moved, and he was not only one of the most active of business men in private affairs, but also connected with public enterprises. He was twice married; his first wife was a sister of Mr. John Norris whom Mr. Buxton succeeded in the local railroad management, and also a sister of Charles P. Norris, who was for a long time express agent here; she having deceased in 1860, Mr. Buxton subsequently married Miss Jennie Wiseman, who, with three children, survives him, and now resides on the property No. 394 East High street, which was purchased and improved by Mr. Buxton, and which is a handsome property, which, by its surroundings and furnishings, indicates culture and refined taste. Mrs. Buxton is the daughter of the Rev. John Wiseman, a well-known and prominent minister of the Presbyterian Church, and is an accomplished lady.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 799
ANDREW T. BYERS, attorney and manufacturer, Springfield; was born in Madison Co., Ohio, in 1847; he was the son of a farmer, and remained on the farm until 18 years of age, receiving, in the meantime, a rudimentary education at the common schools; subsequently took a preparatory course at Oberlin, and graduated at the Wesleyan University at Delaware, Ohio, after which he read law in the office of Hon. Samuel Shellabarger, and was admitted to practice in 1875, and immediately began practice here, occupying the office a short time previously vacated by Shellabarger & Pringle, and has continued practice here since, having been twice elected City Solicitor—first in 1876, to fill a vacancy, and again in 1877 for a full term of two years. In 1878, he was admitted to the bar of the United States Courts. He is now, in addition to his professional business, a member of the Common Sense Engine Company, of which further mention is made in the chapter relating to Springfield. Mr. Byers is a young but active man, a lawyer of recognized ability, and a careful business man, and we predict a successful future to the new manufacturing firm. He married, in 1877, Miss Ida Bidwell; she is also a native of Madison County, and a graduate of the Wesleyan Female Seminary. Mrs. Byers’ mother, Jane Bidwell, is known in literary circle as contributor to some of the standard literary journals.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 791
JOHN C. BYERS, farmer; P. O. Northampton; was born in Pennsylvania April 16, 1815; is a son of John and Nancy (Branaman) Byers, natives of Pennsylvania. Benjamin Byers, the grandfather, also a native of Pennsylvania. Christian Branaman, the maternal grandfather, was of English birth, and came to America a poor boy, and was sold to pay for his passage across the waters. John and family became residents of Ohio in 1847, and, in one month after locating here his wife died. After her death, he and his son-in-law bought and located upon a farm in Fairfield Co., residing there three years; thence to Putnam Co., where the father died March 16, 1873 or 1874. Our subject was raised to farm labor, living with his father until 23 years of age. Was married Aug. 11, 1836, to Elizabeth daughter of John and Peggy Wangart, natives of Pennsylvania; issue eleven children; ten grew to maternity [maturity]; nine now survive—Leah, Catharine, Lydia, Fannie, Andrew, Mary, Melissa and Sarah; deceased, Nancy and Elizabeth. Mr. Byers, after his marriage, lived in Pennsylvania seven years; thence to Franklin Co., Ohio, and resided nine years; he then took an extended tour through the States of Kentucky, Missouri, Iowa, Illinois, Indiana and Michigan, prospecting for a home and a location, and finally settled upon the farm where he now resides, having come to the conclusion that he saw no State or county possessed of all the advantages better than this. Here he has resided twenty-seven years; has greatly improved his farm, erected all new and commodious buildings, and has everything fitted of up, constituting a pleasant farmer’s residence. Mr. Byers started a poor man, and, by his own industry, economy and good management, has accumulated a good competency. He has never sought or held office, preferring to attend quietly to his own business affairs; religiously, he is a Methodist. Mr. Byers has always been a strictly temperate man, and a great friend to the temperance cause; has never used intoxicating liquors or tobacco in any form, and never swore an oath in his life. Such an example is worthy of record and of imitation by all future generations.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 999
ANTHONY BYRD, farmer; P. O. Springfield. Among the pioneers of Clark Co., Ohio, some there are who are recognized as true representatives of that class of men to whom the county owes its present wealth and prosperity, and whose characters, in over half a century of business activity, have never been stained by one act of wrong or injustice in their transactions with their fellow-man; and in this class stands “Squire” Byrd. He was born in Bedford Co., Va., April 13, 1805, and is the son of Luke and Elizabeth (Huffman) Byrd, who came to Clark Co., Ohio, in December, 1816, locating near Springfield, his father dying Aug. 31, 1823, and his mother in September, 1835. At the age of 24, Anthony was married to Jane Snodgrass, daughter of John and Jane (Steel) Snodgrass, to whom were born three children—two boys and one girl—all of whom are living. In the spring of 1829, Mr. Byrd purchased a portion of the farm he now lives upon, and from time to time has added to it, until he is now the owner of 240 acres of finely improved land. On the 8th of December, 1836, his wife died, and in 1839 he was married to Maria Wallace, daughter of Jonathan and Isabella Wallace, of which union four children were born, two yet living. Mrs. Byrd died June 25, 1851, and, in October, 1854, he was married to Mary Cowan, daughter of Jane and David Cowan, who died in April, 1868, leaving him again without a helpmate to cheer and comfort him in his declining years. On the 27th October, 1863, his son Wallace died from disease contracted in the army, whither he had gone to help preserve the Union. In 1834, Mr. Byrd was elected Justice of the Peace, and was re-elected seventeen years consecutively. Politically, an ardent Republican; he has always kept well informed upon the issues of the political parties, and, when Ft. Sumter was fired upon, he remarked. “That is the beginning of the end of slavery,” demonstrating that he was a man of far-seeing mind and keen political sagacity. Since 1837, he has been a consistent member of the United Presbyterian Church, and has ever been kind and charitable to the poor or afflicted, and no one was more prompt in times of sickness in giving aid to those in distress. Upon one occasion, a neighbor of his being sick with typhoid fever, every one refused to go near the house through fear of catching the dread disease, but Mr. Byrd went and sat up with the patient several nights in succession, saying, “A neighbor of mine shall never suffer alone so long as I am able to go to his aid”—words that stamp him as a true follower of Christ, who never fled from the poor or distressed. Mr. Byrd is a plain, practical man, who believes in fulfilling his promises to the letter, and his life has been strongly marked by undeviating, unswerving integrity in all its relations, being one of those rare men whose aim is to be right and do right at all times.
Source: The History of Clark County, Ohio, W. H. Beers & Co., 1881, page 800
WALLACE G. BYRD* is known as one of the progressive farmers and representative citizens of his native township, where he owns and resides upon the fine old homestead farm which was the place of his birth, the same being eligibly situated on the Bird Road, one-quarter of a mile north of the National Pike, in Springfield Township, three miles east of Springfield, the county seat. On this farm Mr. Bird was born March 23, 1866, a son of Luke Byrd, who was born and reared on the old homestead farm of which the present farm of his son Wallace is a part, his father, Anthony Byrd, having been born in Bedford County, Virginia, April 13, 1805, a son of Luke and Elizabeth (Huffman) Byrd, who figure as the founders of this representative family in Clark County, whither they came from the Old Dominion State in the year 1816, when their son, Anthony, was a lad of eleven years. Luke Byrd, the pioneer, instituted the development of a farm in the midst of the forest wilds of Springfield Township, and here he remained until his death, in 1823, his widow having passed away in 1835. Here Anthony Byrd was reared to manhood on the frontier farm, and at the age of twenty-four years he married Miss Jane Snodgrass, daughter of John and Jane (Steele) Snodgrass, who likewise were sterling pioneers of the county. Of the three children of Anthony and Jane Byrd the eldest was John S., who continued his residence in Clark County until his death, at the age of seventy-seven years; Luke, father of the subject of this review, was the next younger son; Nancy Jane, became the wife of Arthur Richards, who still resides in this county, at a venerable age, she having died at the age of seventy-five years. After the death of his first wife Anthony Byrd married Miss Maria Wallace, and of the children of this union three attained to maturity: Wallace, who was a soldier in the Sixteenth Ohio Battery of Light Artillery in the Civil war, died while in service, at a hospital in the City of St. Louis, Missouri; James, who died in Arkansas, a bachelor, likewise served as a soldier in the Civil war, he having thereafter graduated in a theological seminary at Xenia, Ohio, and having been ordained a clergyman of the United Presbyterian Church, but a disorder of his throat having finally made it impossible for him to continue his work in the ministry; Belle, the only daughter of the second marriage, became the wife of Dr. E. C. Harris, and both are now deceased. After the death of his second wife Anthony Byrd contracted a third marriage, and his third wife, whose maiden name was Mary Cowan, likewise preceded him to eternal rest, no children having been born of their union. Mr. Byrd died on the 2d of July, 1882, one of the venerable and honored pioneer citizens of Clark County. He was a staunch republican, a man of high principles and mature judgment, and was a substantial and influential citizen in his community. In 1834 he was elected justice of the peace, and by sixteen successive re-elections he continued the incumbent of this office for a long period of years. He was an earnest and consistent member of the United Presbyterian Church, with which he became actively affiliated in 1837. In 1829 he settled on a pioneer farm of 240 acres in Springfield Township, and of the same the farm now owned by Wallace G. Byrd, of this sketch, is a part. Anthony Byrd and all of his sons became republicans, his original political allegiance having been given to the old whig party. The son Luke served as constable when the father was justice of the peace. The Byrd family did much to further the operations of the historic “underground railroad” by which many slaves were aided in escaping in the period prior to the Civil war.
Luke Byrd learned the trade of millwright under the direction of his uncle, Silas V. Byrd, and he followed his trade for a time in both Indiana and Illinois. In 1866 he erected and equipped a hominy mill in Baltimore, Maryland, and he continued his operations in the erection of mills for many years. About the year 1870 he returned to the old home farm, his individual holding having been a small part of the original place. About 1880 he resumed the work of his trade, and for many years thereafter he controlled a prosperous business in the remodeling of mills, installing roller-process systems, etc. He married Margaret Richards, who was born in Virginia, a daughter of Edward and Jane (Benson) Richards, she having been four years old when the family came to Ohio and established a home in Clark County. The death of Luke Byrd occurred November 1, 1908, and his widow followed him to the life eternal in April of the next year. Of their four children the eldest is Edward Anthony, who resides at Springfield, and is in the service of the Detroit, Toledo & Ironton Railroad; Ida Jane is the wife of Joseph H. Newton, a substantial farmer and miller of Springfield Township; John S., died at the age of fifty-five years, he having served as township clerk of Springfield Township, as secretary of the Clark County Fair Board, and as secretary of the School Board; and Wallace G., of this sketch, is the youngest of the children. The parents were zealous members of the United Presbyterian Church, though the mother had been reared in the faith of the Methodist Episcopal Church.
Wallace G. Byrd gained his youthful education in the public schools and was but a boy when he assumed unusual responsibility in connection with the affairs of the home farm, he having become its virtual manager when he was fourteen years old, his father having been absent from home in connection with his business as a millwright. He has thus far passed virtually his entire time on the old homestead, to which he has added until he now has a well improved farm of fifty-four acres, devoted to diversified agriculture and to the raising of livestock. For the past thirty years he has been a wholesale dealer in flour, as a representative of the Moorefield and Mad River mills. During all but two years of this long period he has handled virtually all of the output of these mills, and has sold to grocers, bakers and other dealers and large users. For other mills he has sold to the jobbing trade, and his activities in this line of business have demanded much of his time and attention, though he has always given a general supervision to his farm. He has had no desire for public office, but served four years as township assessor, his political allegiance being given to the republican party. He and his wife are attendants of the United Presbyterian Church, and both were earnest and zealous in the furtherance of local agencies and movements in support of the Government war service in the World war period, Mrs. Byrd having been chairman of the local Red Cross Chapter. She is a valued and appreciative member of the Woman’s Club in the City of Springfield.
Mr. Byrd married Miss Mary W. Russell, a daughter of William Russell, a skilled machinist and a resident of Springfield. Mr. and Mrs. Byrd have no children. Mrs. Byrd is a talented artist, and has been a successful art teacher, besides which many of her fine productions, in oils, water colors and pastel, have won many awards at public exhibitions of varied orders, her work including the most artistic of china painting. Mrs. Anna Russell, mother of Mrs. Byrd, was born in 1840 and died in 1918. She was a daughter of the honored and loved pioneer physician Dr. Abel Whipple, of Springfield. Doctor Whipple was born in Massachusetts, in 1804, in 1835 was graduated in a medical school at Staunton, Virginia, and in 1866 he engaged in the practice of his profession at Springfield, where his death occurred in 1876. In 1836 the doctor married Mary Matson, daughter of John Matson, of Cincinnati. Doctor Whipple was a descendant of Benjamin Whipple, one of the signers of the Declaration of Independence. William M. Russell was born at Yonkers, New York, in 1840, and died at Springfield, Ohio, in 1900. In the period of the Civil war he was Government inspector of arms in the great Colt manufactory at Hartford, Connecticut. In 1866 he was sent to the far West, as a secret-service representative of the Government, and with a companion he was for a time lost in the desert of Death Valley, where he narrowly escaped death by starvation. John Matson, maternal grandfather of Mrs. Byrd, was a member of the military expedition that visited the battle-ground and buried the dead after the defeat of General St. Clair in the War of 1812, and letters which he wrote in description of this event were published in a Cincinnati paper in 1845, a copy of this paper being in possession of Mrs. Byrd, who also treasures a number of rare volumes from the library of her paternal grandfather, Doctor Whipple.
At the dedication of the new and modern centralized school building three miles east of Springfield Wallace G. Byrd read a very interesting historical record which he had prepared and which gave data concerning educational work in the early days. From this address it is learned that the first school in Springfield Township was established in 1806 by Nathaniel Pinkered, a log house on the site of the present Lagonda Bank in Springfield being used for the school. The first school near the present centralized school three miles east of Springfield was taught by a man named Warrington. The school house here erected in the late ’50s continued in use until the erection of the present modern building. In the paper prepared by Mr. Byrd appear the following interesting records concerning pioneer settlement in this special community of Springfield Township: “James Reid and brother John came in 1802, from Virginia. James Rea came from Pennsylvania in 1802; John Dugan came in 1806, from Pennsylvania, and in the same year John and Jane Snodgrass came from Kentucky. Andrew Benson, of Virginia, came in 1806, and his brother George in 1807, their wives having been daughters of Robert and Mary Renick. In 1810 Mathew and Jane Wood came from Kentucky. In 1812 came Isaac Wood, a native of New York. John Foster came in 1808 and built the original mill on the site of the Junction Mill. Adam and Maria Alt were from Maryland. John Whitely, born in North Carolina, came from Kentucky in 1811, the maiden name of his wife having been Christina Hall. Their son Andrew became a leading citizen. In 1816 Luke Byrd, a Baptist minister, came from Medford, Pennsylvania. His sons, Anthony, Herbert and Silas, became substantial citizens. John Stickney landed in New York in 1819 and the next year settled where his grandson, William J. Stickney, now lives, in Springfield Township. Thomas Crabill came in 1833, but was born in Moorefield Township, in 1810. Edward and Jane Richards came from Virginia in 1842. Among early teachers in this community were the following named: Dan Wuthard, Warrington and Humphreys, J. Q. Adams, Merrell Meade, Lanthun, Green, Stephen Hatfield, Nathan Wood, J. L. McClelland, Rachel Baer, James A. Byrd, Dr. E. C. Harris, William Forrest, Kate Ruckman, John Wood, Mrs. William Forrest, John Finney, Mrs. Grace Finney, Rebecca May Collier, Doctor Spinning (who is still a resident), and many others.”
[*TRANSCRIBERS NOTE: Headstone for Anthony Byrd in Yale Cemetery and his signature on his portrait in the Beers History both spell surname Byrd. All instances of Bird have been changed to Byrd.--cp]
Source: A Standard History of Springfield and Clark County, Ohio by Benjamin F. Prince, 1922, page 161